Reviews

REVIEW: Champion by Marie Lu [Contains mild spoilers]

Title: Champion

Author: Marie Lu

Publisher: Putnam Juvenille

Pages: 384

Genres: Dystopia, Young Adult fiction

Series: Legend trilogy #3

Blurb: He is a Legend.

She is a Prodigy.

Who will be Champion?

June and Day have sacrificed so much for the people of the Republic—and each other—and now their country is on the brink of a new existence. June is back in the good graces of the Republic, working within the government’s elite circles as Princeps-Elect, while Day has been assigned a high-level military position.

But neither could have predicted the circumstances that will reunite them: just when a peace treaty is imminent, a plague outbreak causes panic in the Colonies, and war threatens the Republic’s border cities. This new strain of plague is deadlier than ever, and June is the only one who knows the key to her country’s defense. But saving the lives of thousands will mean asking the one she loves to give up everything.

With heart-pounding action and suspense, Marie Lu’s bestselling trilogy draws to a stunning conclusion.

Review: It took me around a week to finish this book. I flew through Legend then took a bit longer with Prodigy, but for some reason, Champion put me in a bit of a slump. BUT I loved it. A lot.
Champion is the third book in the Legend trilogy by Marie Lu and it’s told in dual perspective: June and Day. June works for the Republic and Day is one of the Republic’s most wanted criminals.
I won’t spoil the first two books too much for you so I won’t go into detail about them. But I will tell you [SPOILER ALERT] that at the end of Prodigy, June and Day decide they can’t be together.
In Champion, the Republic is falling apart and June and Day are brought together to help Anden save it.
This book was packed with action and thrills so I’m not really sure why I didn’t finish it in a couple of days. If I’m being honest, I didn’t like Day in this book. I really wanted June and Anden to finally get together. Anden was definitely my favourite character.
There was some character development with June and the plot was fantastic. Despite the slump, I found the storyline intriguing. Who doesn’t love a good dystopian set in the future after the United States is no more and the whole world is different?
Overall, this was an amazing conclusion to an amazing trilogy. I am so glad to have picked up Legend, Prodigy and Champion and introduced myself to Day and June because while I was turning the pages, I had found some pretty awesome people to spend my time with.

Rating: ★★★★★

Get it: Amazon | Book Depository 

Leave a Reply

