Reviews

REVIEW of The Archived: all the fangirling

Hello everyone! I have just finished The Archived by Victoria Schwab and I need to get my thoughts out because oh. my. god. I don’t think this will be so much as a review as me fangirling over this masterpiece.

Blurb: Each body has a story to tell, a life seen in pictures only Librarians can read. The dead are called Histories, and the vast realm in which they rest is the Archive.
Da first brought Mackenzie Bishop here four years ago, when she was twelve years old, frightened but determined to prove herself. Now Da is dead, and Mac has grown into what he once was: a ruthless Keeper, tasked with stopping often violent Histories from waking up and getting out. Because of her job, she lies to the people she loves, and she knows fear for what it is: a useful tool for staying alive.
Being a Keeper isn’t just dangerous—it’s a constant reminder of those Mac has lost, Da’s death was hard enough, but now that her little brother is gone too, Mac starts to wonder about the boundary between living and dying, sleeping and waking. In the Archive, the dead must never be disturbed. And yet, someone is deliberately altering Histories, erasing essential chapters. Unless Mac can piece together what remains, the Archive itself may crumble and fall.

the archived
Review:
This book was sitting on my TBR bookcase for a couple of months and I finally decided to pick it up yesterday, and I am so glad I did.
The Archived in set in our world but also contains a fictional society that the regular mundane can’t see and isn’t aware of. I won’t go too much into this society but it basically contains Keeper’s, Histories, Crew and Librarians. Histories are the dead and they rest in the Archive, Keeper’s hunt and return escaped Histories, Crew are a pair of Keeper’s, the next step up, that work together when Histories escape into the Outer and Librarians are the final step and they reside in the Archive, monitoring the dead/Histories.
In The Archived we follow Mackenzie, a Keeper who has just lost her younger brother and is being forced to move into the Coronado, a possibly haunted hotel-turned-apartment complex. She has rocky relationships with both of her parents, neither of whom are dealing very well with the death of Ben, Mac’s younger brother.
At the Coronado, Mac meets Wes, a seemingly emo boy skulking around the building and she also meets Owen who is trapped in the Narrows.
What follows is a whirlwind of mystery, suspense and a little bit of romance as Mac and Wes uncover the secrets of the Archive and those who work for it.
This is the first book by Victoria Schwab I’ve read and I have to say, I will definitely be picking up her others in the future. Especially the sequel, The Unbound. I loved her writing and the plot flowed so well. I found myself sucked into this world and I wasn’t able to put the book down for more than 10 minutes at a time.
I’ve been in a bit of a slump the last couple weeks, and I think this was the perfect book to pull me out of it. Keep an eye out for The Archived in my recommendations tomorrow!

Rating: ★★★★★

One thought on “REVIEW of The Archived: all the fangirling

Leave a Reply

