Reviews

MINI REVIEW: All Fall Down by Ally Carter

Title: All Fall Down
Author: Ally Carter
Publisher: Scholastic Australia
Pages: 306
Blurb: Grace Blakely is absolutely certain of three certain things:
1. She is not crazy
2. Her mother was murdered
3. Someday she is going to find the killer and make him pay
The thing is, nobody else believes her and there’s no-one she can trust. Not her grandfather, a powerful ambassador. Not her new friends, who all live on Embassy Row. Not Alexei, the Russian boy next door, who is keeping his eye on Grace for reasons she neither likes nor understands.
Grace’s past has come back to haunt her… and if she doesn’t stop it, Grace isn’t the only one who will get hurt. Because on Embassy Row, the countries of the world stand like dominoes and one wrong move can make them all fall down.
Review: I hadn’t read a book by Ally Carter in so long, it took me a while to pick this one up. Then with the end of the year looming and the Read Women challenge, I saw it as a great opportunity to give this one a chance. And I was not disappointed.
The plot, for me, was so fantastic as was the style of writing and the characters. Adria was such an interesting world and I liked how the story mainly focused on Embassy Row. Grace’s struggle with understanding what actually happened the night her mother died kept me locked between the pages and I found I was never bored.
One of my favourite aspects of the novel were Grace’s relationships with her friends, how she went from being closed off to slowly letting them in, letting them help her on her mission.
There are so many things to love about this novel and Ally’s writing and I cannot wait for the next Embassy Row instalment!
Rating: ★★★★

Leave a Reply

