Reviews

REVIEW: Because You’ll Never Meet Me by Leah Thomas

Title: Because You’ll Never Meet Me
Author: Leah Thomas
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Science Fiction, Realistic Fiction, Fantasy
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Pages: 344
Blurb: Ollie and Moritz are best friends, but they can never meet. Ollie is allergic to electricity. Contact with it causes debilitating seizures. Moritz’s weak heart is kept pumping by an electronic pacemaker. If they ever did meet, Ollie would seize. But Moritz would die without his pacemaker. Both hermits from society, the boys develop a fierce bond through letters that become a lifeline during dark times—as Ollie loses his only friend, Liz, to the normalcy of high school and Moritz deals with a bully set on destroying him.

Review: I was expecting a cute contemporary when I picked this book up, and for the most part that’s what I got. I was not expecting science fiction.

I have such mixed feelings about this book. I’d seen people say they really loved it or that it was just meh. Going into it, I tried to not let those opinions affect me but eventually, I could see what they meant.

First of all, this book is told in letters and I love that so much. It was such a unique format to me and it felt like I was reading just a regularly presented book. But, to be honest, that wasn’t enough for me to decide that this book was awesome.

I enjoyed the plot for the most part. I wasn’t a huge fan of the science fiction scenes as I’m not much of a science fiction person. I was definitely hoping for some more fluff, something a little cutesy.

I really, really like Moritz though. He was my favourite character in the book. He went through some series growth and development as the story progressed. I really enjoyed reading his letters/chapters and I found him, on some level, to be relatable.

It was pretty sad, reading about the lab and how Ollie and Moritz were experimented upon as foetuses an infants. But that just wasn’t an element of the plot I was all too interested in. It focused too much on the science fiction-y parts for me.

This book could have been really good but THAT ENDING. I really wanted something better! I was hoping it would end with something cute cliché but it didn’t. I don’t want to spoil it for those who haven’t read it so I won’t go into detail.

Basically the book, and the whole ending, could have been better (in my opinion) but I enjoyed it for the most part.

M Y  V E R D I C T:

★★★☆☆

Leave a Reply

