Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: New-to-me Authors of 2015

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme/feature created by The Broke and The Bookish. More information and bookish goodness can be found here.

2015 has been such a great reading year for me. I’ve picked up a lot of books I probably never would have if it wasn’t for Booklr, and I have found so many new authors!

So, without further ado, here are my Top Ten authors I read for the first time in 2015!

 

10 // Jandy Nelson
I was given my first copy of I’ll Give You the Sun in a Tumblr book swap earlier this year and a couple of months later I quickly devoured it. I absolutely loved it. Not long after, I bought The Sky is Everywhere and a second copy of I’ll Give You the Sun. Jandy’s writing is so beautiful and that’s why she made it on this list.

9 // Tahereh Mafi
I’d seen so many people talk and rave about this series when I joined Booklr that I picked it up in May. I read Shatter Me and then ordered the rest of the series, putting all the other books on hold to read it. I absolutely love Warner and Juliette and I’m in dire need of a re-read in 2016.

8 // Marie Lu
I wasn’t sure about putting Marie Lu on this list because I didn’t enjoy the end of the Legend trilogy as much as the first book. But the ending of Champion was redemption and she’s definitely one of the best writer’s I’ve found this year.

7 // Adam Silvera
Adam Silvera only has one novel out, More Happy Than Not, but I read it in one day and it was so beautiful and lovely and heartbreaking that it’s actually one of my favourite books of this year. Adam’s writing is awesome and was, in a way, unique to me and that’s why he’s on the list.

6 // Patrick Ness
I’ve only read The Rest of Us Just Live Here (I will be remedying that next year) and even though I’ve seen a lot of mixed reviews, I actually loved it a lot and I loved Patrick’s writing. I’d been looking at his novels for a while and thought TROUJLH was a good one to start with and boy, I was not wrong!

5 // Maggie Steifvater
I still have only read The Raven Boys by Maggie (the next two will be here soon!) and I loved it. Maggie created such complex and interesting characters and brought them to life with a lovely plot and writing style.

4 // Morgan Matson
Morgan Matson is my summer contemporary queen. I haven’t read the books she’s released under her pen name, but the three by her I have read were so touching and cute and just everything I wanted coming into summer. For those of you who haven’t picked up any of her books, you must do it now. This minute. It’s fine, this list can wait.

3 // Victoria Schwab
Again, I’ve only read one book by Victoria but I loved it so much and I am so glad to have discovered her this year. I know in 2016 I will be buying the rest of her books and posting about them lots.

2 // Colleen Hoover
I read mostly YA this year but I did read a few New Adult books and they were all by Colleen Hoover. Colleen takes interesting situations, adds romance and the right amount of smut to create some really awesome books.

1 // Sarah J. Maas
I don’t even know if this one has to be explained. I was hesitant to pick up Throne of Glass at first but a friend of mine read it before me and he said I’d probably like it more than he did. And I did. Though the series doesn’t get completely amazing till Heir of Fire I absolutely adore it and Sarah’s characters. Let’s not forget A Court of Thorns and Roses, of which I own two copies now because I picked up a signed one from Dymocks. If you haven’t read Sarah’s books, please, please, please do! Read them and you and I can fangirl allll about it!

 

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: New-to-me Authors of 2015

  1. I read my first CoHo book this year as well (Hopeless). I am still on the fence about her though. I have heard good things about confess and I have the book, I just haven’t read it yet.
    And I think I am the only person left who hasn’t read a Sarah J Maas book! My TTT

    Like

Leave a Reply

