Bookish

Bri Recommends: YA Fantasy

Hello everyone! This week I will be recommending five young adult fantasies that I have loved and I hope you love them, too. Narrowing this list down to just five was so hard but these are my top fantasies from this year!

red queen5 // Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Set in a world where the colour of your blood means everything, Mare doesn’t know she’s special. While working in the Silver Palace, Mare discovers her full potential and that her differences could destroy the balance of power.
This book was so intriguing and kept me on the edge of my seat. I loved the characters and I can’t wait until the sequel, Glass Sword, is released.

winner's curse4 // The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski

Being the daughter of a general, Kestrel’s choices for her future are limited. But when she meets Arin, a slave being auctioned off, she finds a kindred spirit and buys him. What follows is a whirlwind of secrets and love that put everything at stake.
I loved this world so much even though I didn’t find the book to be amazing. I still need to pick up the sequel, The Winner’s Crime, and I’m excited for the third books release!

3 // The Selection (series) by Kiera Cass10507293

American Singer doesn’t want to enter the Selection as it means leaving her family, secret boyfriend and the world she knows behind. But when she begins competing for the heart of Prince Maxon she begins imagining a future she didn’t think was possible.
This series is like The Bachelor meets the Royal Family and I loved it. The first book wasn’t my favourite but the series does get better and I am anxiously awaiting The Crown.

2 // Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafishatter me

Juliette is stuck in a cell because her touch kills people. But The Reestablishment decide to use her powers to their advantage and Juliette has to choose if she’s going to help save the people or fight back for herself.
I loved this series so much. It’s such a great fantasy/dystopian filled with romance and hot guys and battles. The writing style is absolutely beautiful and it’s one of the best books/series I’ve read this year.

77493_original1 // A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

A retelling of Beauty and the Beast, A Court of Thorns and Roses is about a huntress named Feyre who just killed a wolf in the woods. Little did she know how important that wolf was and when the beast comes crashing into her house, Feyre is demanded to pay for it. Taken away to a magical land of Fae, Feyre discovers that the beast isn’t an animal but a man named Tamlin. When faced with a wicked darkness, Feyre has to choose whether to stop it or doom Tamlin forever.
Sarah J. Maas is just such an amazing writer and I loved this book so much. The world was so captivating as were the characters of this novel. This is a must read for any fans of Beauty and the Beast, like me, or anyone who wants a romance-y  fantasy.

Leave a Reply

