Reviews

REVIEW + DISCUSSION: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Title: Everything, Everything
Author: Nicola Yoon
Pages: 320
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Fiction
Blurb: My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.
But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.
Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

Review: I stayed up until 3:15 AM to finish this book because I just could not put it down.

I don’t even know where to begin with what I loved about this book. It was definitely the characters, and it was definitely the writing style. It was the small illustrations sprinkled throughout the pages. It was the growth and change and adventures I got to experience while I was part of this world.

This had been on my TBR shelf for so long; I didn’t read it until I finally made a TBR jar and pulled it out. The plot was always so interesting to me and I had seen a lot of people say they loved it. I was skeptical at first, I’m nervous that I won’t like a book everyone else loves. But I loved it so much.

“I would remember my past and then I would remember not to repeat it.”

The characters felt so real to me. Maddy and her mum, Olly and his family, Carla and just everyone. It felt like they were apart of me; it still feels like that. Maddy experiences so much growth throughout this novel. She changes and experiences things and she comes out a better person. I think Olly also changed throughout the novel though he was always adorable. He’s the kind of guy I want to be friends with, to not have to say goodbye to.

The writing style was beautiful. I loved the short chapters and the IM conversations and the messages written on windows and the illustrations throughout. All of those things made the reading experiences better.

I don’t usually like books with open endings. I like to know what happens to the characters, if they’re okay and if they’re together. But with Everything, Everything I loved that it had an open ending. I like to think that Maddy got live the life she dreamed of, that Olly was by her side for all of it and that she fixed things with her mum.

“Olly’s math says you can’t predict the future. It turns out that you can’t predict the past either. Time moves in both directions – forward and backward – and what happens here and now changes them both.”

This book made me appreciate everything I have. It made me realise not to take my life for granted because one day it might be taken away. If you haven’t read this yet, I urge you to. It was beautiful and wonderful and all the things I wanted from it. Even if you’re not a huge fan of it, some small part of you will love it for the message it sends and the themes it contains. I know I do and I think I always will.

M Y  V E R D I C T :

★★★★★

(for me, a five star rating wasn’t nearly enough but it’ll have to do)

One thought on “REVIEW + DISCUSSION: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Leave a Reply

