Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Lifestyle & Bookish Resolutions for 2016

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme/feature created by The Broke and The Bookish. More information and bookish goodness can be found here.

I cannot believe it’s 2016! I always thought in 2016 I would be in my last year of high school, planing a gap year before I went to uni to study creative writing. But here I am, seventeen years old and finished high school, waiting to see if I’ve received an offer to study business this year. I think 2016 will be a year of change for me so I’m pretty happy about this weeks Top Ten Tuesday being my resolutions for this year!

10 //Β Read all the books I bought in 2015
I bought and received so many books in 2015 and they’re all just sitting on my bookcase, making me feel bad because I am yet to read them. But I will! It will be slow going since so many amazing books are coming out this year but I will do it!

9 //Β Finish old series’
I own so many unfinished series that I began ages ago and ones I began recently. I’m hoping to get them finished this year.

8 // Get out of the house more
I don’t leave the house very often, usually only for school because I’m lazy like that. With being on holidays at the moment I haven’t been getting a whole heap of exercise because Tumblr and Instagram and blogs/blogging have all been calling my name. But I want to get out a lot more and meet new people, and I especially want to discover more of Melbourne.

7 // Use my phone less
I am the sort of person who hates when someone uses their phone a lot while we’re hanging out. I also hate that I am that sort of person. Constantly checking my phone distracts me from the hear and now and everything that’s happening around me which is why I want to keep in my bag a lot more.

6 // Get serious about studying
For my last two years of high school I didn’t have to study much which is pretty much the opposite of other students final years at high school. I was stress-free and never had homework which is how I know uni will be a big wakeup call. Even if I don’t get an offer I want to try and be more organised and ready to study because I have never, ever been that kind of person (thank the Wyrd for studyblr’s).

5 // Donate my clothes
I am a clothes hoarder. My drawers and closet are filled with clothes I don’t wear, like or that don’t fit me anymore and a lot of them I’ve hardly or never worn. I’m hoping to go through all my clothing at the change of each season and donate what I no longer need to the Salvation Army or St. Vincents.

4 // Start self-hosting my blog
Though this is #4, this isn’t a huge priority for me but it is something I would like to do by December. I really want to be able to have my own domain and a nicer theme so I’m hoping to begin self-hosting Paperback Bri sometime this year. Otherwise it’s definitely something I’ll be doing next year.

3 // Spend less, save more
I turn 18 in October which means I’ll be able to get my P’s (for those of you not in Australia this basically means I’ll be able to drive on my own) which means I’m going to need a car. Last year instead of saving my money, I spent a lot of it on books and though I don’t regret any of the books I bought, I do wish I had put at least half of my pay away each week. Since I plan to go to the Netherlands for a month with my mum next year, I also need to save for that which is why in 2016 I’m hoping to cut back on spending and start putting my penny’s away.

2 // Take more photos
I love taking photos. I am constantly taking photos for my BookstagramΒ and I love it but this year I want to take more non-bookish photos. I plan to add a photography page to the blog and fill it with photos of beautiful Melbourne and my small country town and so many other things. I’m going to be taking my camera with me to so many more places and being capturing all the special moments.

1 // Interact with more bloggers/bookstagrammers/booklrs
I am an extremely shy person and struggle to reach out or start a conversation. I want to overcome that this year and talk to more people and make some internet friends. I don’t interact with people on my social media platforms very often at the moment but I so, so want to because you are all such lovely people!

What are your 2016 resolutions?

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Lifestyle & Bookish Resolutions for 2016

  1. I totally relate to wanting to self-host your blog this year. That is one of my resolutions too and I just have no clue where to begin. My utter lack of knowledge about anything computer(y) has me hesitating to take make the leap πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Love your resolutions! I too resolve to read the books I have already!! I am such a book hoarder!
    I wish my students would admit to needing to study more! I teach HS and they think everything is going to be piece of cake when they leave here. Sigh…
    I switched to self hosting and a new design over the summer and LOVE it. Check out nosegraze.com. Ashley is AWESOME!
    Here is my Top Ten Tuesday

    Like

    1. I’m such a book hoarder too! I have 54 books I still haven’t read and a serious book buying addiction. I just finished high school and am waiting to see if I got a uni offer and I can already tell I’m going to really have to buckle down and get it together! Definitely not a piece of cake now that I’ve left high school XD

      Like

Leave a Reply

