Reviews

REVIEW + DISCUSSION: Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Title: Cinder
Author: Marissa Meyer
Publisher: Puffin Books
Pages: 390
Series: Luner Chronicles #1
Blurb: Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.
Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

Review + Discussion: This book was a sci-fi twist on an old fairy tale and it was epic.

I was somewhat skeptical going into this book. I know a lot of people love this series and there’s so much hype surrounding it now that the final book has been released so I was nervous. But almost immediately I could see why everyone raves about it.

DSC_0124Though it took me a little while to get into it, once I did I was able to fully immerse myself in the world of New Beijing. I loved the setting of this first novel, though I do wish there was a little more world building. I found it a little hard to picture the city and what it had become.

I loved the characters. They all had a lot of depth and I enjoyed watching Cinder grow throughout the novel. I wasn’t completely sold on Kai, to be honest. He did grow on me towards the end but for some reason, I just wasn’t too into his character. He annoyed me at points and frustrated me at others; he just didn’t leave me with that nawwww feeling I often look for in a novels love interest.

For some strange reason, I really liked Queen Levana. I know I probably shouldn’t, considering she’s the antagonist and the evil queen but I kind of feel like there’s a lot of depth to her and a lot still to learn about her.

I really enjoyed the writing style, it was easy to read and overall I found the book to be fast paced, especially as it neared the end.

I definitely enjoyed the ending a lot more than the beginning. I mean, THAT PLOT TWIST. I can’t say I was surprised about the twist, just because I had this feeling in the last hundred pages but I got so excited for the next book which is why I’m diving straight in.

I am so captivated by these characters, their world and the problems they’re facing. I cannot wait to begin Scarlet and continue on with this story!

M Y  V E R D I C T :

★★★★☆

One thought on “REVIEW + DISCUSSION: Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Leave a Reply

