Reviews

REVIEW + DISCUSSION: Cress by Marissa Meyer

cress reviewTitle: Cress
Author: Marissa Meyer
Pages: 550
Genres: Young Adult, Sci-Fi, Fantasy, Retellings
Series: Lunar Chronicles #3
Publisher: Puffin Books
Blurb: In this third book in the Lunar Chronicles, Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, now with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together, they’re plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and her army.
Their best hope lies with Cress, a girl imprisoned on a satellite since childhood who’s only ever had her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker. Unfortunately, she’s just received orders from Levana to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice.
When a daring rescue of Cress goes awry, the group is separated. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes at a high price. Meanwhile, Queen Levana will let nothing prevent her marriage to Emperor Kai. Cress, Scarlet, and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only hope the world has.

DSC_0093Review + Discussion: This book, and this whole series, has ALL THE OTP’S. So much shipping happens while I’m reading this and I love it so much.

Like the rest of the Lunar Chronicles, Cress is a sci-fi twist on an old fairy tale, this one being a retelling of Rapunzel.

These books just keep hooking me in and I am falling in love with the story line and the characters.

Previously, Scarlet was my favourite character but now I think my favourite is Cress. I just wish she had more of her own chapters. I love the relationship she forms with Captain Thorne and also how much she grew within herself.

I loved Thorne in this, as well. He’s quickly becoming my favourite love interest. He’s experienced a fair amount of character development and the way he treats Cress had me reading with the biggest smile on my face. damsel cress

Cinder also experienced a lot of growth throughout Cress. By the end she’s ready to accept her destiny and is really coming into her own, as well as getting Kai back.

The plot progressed so well and it had me entranced. I flew through this book a lot faster than I did Cinder even though this one is 500+ pages. The storyline and relationships, the action and the romance all have me so captivated with this world and its people.

The Lunar Chronicles has everything I ever wanted in a series and I can’t believe it took me so long to pick it up. I have no idea how I’m going to live without it after I’ve finished Winter because I think it’s quickly becoming one of my favourites.

These books are filled with suspense and cutesy romance and literal world domination and ALL the other good things that I just cannot get enough! cress revolutionary cinder

M Y  V E R D I C T :
★★★★★

Have you read the Lunar Chronicles? What’s your favourite OTP from the series?

7 thoughts on “REVIEW + DISCUSSION: Cress by Marissa Meyer

      1. That’s good, I can’t wait to read it myself! I’m just waiting until I get Fairest (the novella) first though because I want to read that before continuing 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

