Reviews

REVIEW + DISCUSSION: Winter by Marissa Meyer

winter review

Title: Winter
Author: Marissa Meyer
Pages: 824
Genres: Young Adult, Sci-Fi, Fantasy, Retellings
Series: Lunar Chronicles #4
Publisher: Puffin Books
Blurb: Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.
Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend—the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.
Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters?

Review + Discussion: Winter is the fourth and final full length novel of the Lunar Chronicles series and is a science fiction retelling of Snow White.

I don’t want to spoil this book or the rest of this series for anyone so I’m going to try to not go into too much detail but I do recommend you read Winter and the previous books before reading this review. And you should read this series because it is seriously epic.

Winter, and the whole Lunar Chronicles series, was just everything and I have no idea how I’m going to live now that it’s over.

The books in this series just kept getting better and Winter was a fantastic conclusion, it may even be my favourite. Though this book is huge, I managed to read it in about five days which is a pretty big achievement for me since I tend to take my time with larger books.

Winter was such a beautiful character. She was so brave and there was a lot of depth to her. I loved her flaws and how they all contributed to her being a good person. I loved her relationship with Scarlet, even though I found it a little strange at first, and I loved her relationship with Cinder. She was strong and I just loved her.

Jacin was one of my favourite character’s of this novel. I loved his devotion to Winter and his snarkiness. I loved the dynamics between him and Cinder and all the others. I loved his ability to love Winter when she was at her weakest, to still see the good in her.

broken unfixable

Cinder really came into her own in this book, obviously. She experienced so much development throughout this series and even though she wasn’t my favourite, I still love her.

Cress and Thorne still hold a special place in my heart and I love how their character’s grew, how Cress became independent towards the end and how Thorne decided to be a better version of himself (I guess that’s the easiest way to put it but Thorne was ALREADY PERFECT) not just for Cress but for himself.

Scarlet and Wolf are still adorable and they managed to pull their relationship through even after everything that happened to the both of them, if you’ve read the book you know what I’m talking about. Scarlet is so fierce and badass and she just gets better throughout the series. Wolf is still big and bad but he’s still just an adorable ball of fluff who’ll do anything to protect Scarlet.

I loved, loved, loved the world building in Winter. I loved Luna and I was reminded of the Capitol in the Hunger Games while reading about the people who inhabit Luna’s main city. I still really liked Levana and was a little bit sad about her fate but we all knew it was coming and that she deserved it.

The writing was beautiful, the characters were epic and the world was fantastic. The Lunar Chronicles may be one of my new favourite series and I have absolutely no idea what I’m going to do with myself now that it’s finished *cries endlessly*.

proud of scars

M Y  V E R D I C T :

★★★★★

2 thoughts on “REVIEW + DISCUSSION: Winter by Marissa Meyer

Leave a Reply

