Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday | Australian YA

ttt newTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme/feature created by The Broke and The Bookish. More information and bookish goodness can be found here.

So since it’s Australia Day here in Aus, I thought I’d share with you five YA books set in Australia or written by Australian authors that I love! I’m not going to go into detail about these books, just share the blurbs with you because I read a lot of them a long time ago and can’t remember much about them! All information was found on Goodreads.

160366995 // How to Keep a Boy from Kissing you by Tara Englington
Sixteen-year-old Aurora Skye is dedicated to helping others navigate the minefield that is teenage dating. Counsellor-in-residence at home, where her post-divorce ad-agency father has transformed into a NAD (New Age Dad) intent on stripping his life bare of ‘the illusionary’ (i.e. the removal of home furnishings to the point where all after-hours work must be done in lotus position on a hemp cushion) Aurora literally lives and breathes Self-Help.
When the beginning of the school year heralds the arrival of two Potential Princes™ who seem perfect for her best friends Cassie (lighthouse beacon for emotionally fragile boys suffering from traumatic breakups) and Jelena (eye-catching, elegant and intent on implementing systems of serfdom at their school) it seems as if Aurora’s fast on her way to becoming the next Dr Phil.
As Aurora discovers, however, Self-Help is far from simple. Aurora’s mother arrives home from her extended ‘holiday’ (four years solo in Spain following the infamous ‘Answering Machine Incident’) throwing the NAD into further existential crisis. With Valentine’s Day drawing closer and the new Potential Princes not stepping up to the mark, Aurora is literally forced to take to the stage to throw two couples together. However, being cast opposite Hayden Paris (boy next door and bane-of-Aurora’s life) in the school production of Much Ado about Nothing brings challenges of its own. Not only does Hayden doubt that Cupid is understaffed and thus in dire need of Aurora’s help, but playing Beatrice to his Benedict throws her carefully preserved first kiss for a Prince into jeopardy. As Aurora races to save love’s first kiss and put a stop to the NAD’s increasingly intimate relationship with her Interpretive dance teacher (guilty of putting Aurora on detention for a ‘black aura’) she is left wondering who can a self help guru turn to for help? Can she practice what she preaches? And can long-assumed frogs become Potential Princes?

190190684 // The Messenger by Markus Zusak
Meet Ed Kennedy – cab driving prodigy, pathetic card player and useless at sex. He lives in the suburbs,shares coffee with his dog, the Doorman, and he’s in nervous-love with Audrey. His life is one of peaceful routine and incompetence – until he inadvertently stops a bank robbery.

181327083 // The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
It’s just a small story really, about among other things: a girl, some words, an accordionist, some fanatical Germans, a Jewish fist-fighter, and quite a lot of thievery. . . .
Set during World War II in Germany, Markus Zusak’s groundbreaking new novel is the story of Liesel Meminger, a foster girl living outside of Munich. Liesel scratches out a meager existence for herself by stealing when she encounters something she can’t resist–books. With the help of her accordion-playing foster father, she learns to read and shares her stolen books with her neighbors during bombing raids as well as with the Jewish man hidden in her basement before he is marched to Dachau.

173572172 // Stolen by Lucy Christopher
It happened like this. I was stolen from an airport. Taken from everything I knew, everything I was used to. Taken to sand and heat, dirt and danger. And he expected me to love him.
This is my story.
A letter from nowhere.
Sixteen year old Gemma is kidnapped from Bangkok airport and taken to the Australian Outback. This wild and desolate landscape becomes almost a character in the book, so vividly is it described. Ty, her captor, is no stereotype. He is young, fit and completely gorgeous. This new life in the wilderness has been years in the planning. He loves only her, wants only her. Under the hot glare of the Australian sun, cut off from the world outside, can the force of his love make Gemma love him back?
The story takes the form of a letter, written by Gemma to Ty, reflecting on those strange and disturbing months in the outback. Months when the lines between love and obsession, and love and dependency, blur until they don’t exist – almost.

81596431 // Fury by Shirley Marr
Let me tell you my story.
Not just the facts I know you want to hear.
If I’m going to tell you my story,
I’m telling it my way.
Strap yourself in…
Eliza Boans has everything.
A big house.
A great education.
A bright future.
So why is she sitting in a police station confessing to murder?

 

I love all of these books and I especially love reading and supporting Australian young adult fiction! What’s your favourite Australian YA book?

 

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday | Australian YA

  1. Markus Zusak… his writing just astounds me. The Book Thief is so beautiful.
    Stolen’s one I read a few years ago, and would really like to revisit now I’m a little older (I was about fourteen when I first read it, so). I remember liking it, but I think I might enjoy it more now.
    I actually talked about my favourite Aussie novels in my TTT this week! I think with Australia Day and all it’s a pretty popular choice. But it’s really good to see Aussie novels getting celebrated and being given some attention. 🙂
    Awesome post!

    Like

    1. I finished Stolen yesterday and I loved it so much! I don’t often see Australian YA being talked about as often as other YA so I thought Australia day was the best to introduce a few to my blog, so glad you like it! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

