Bookish

BOOK TAG | Book Sacrifice

book sacrificeThis book tag was created by Ariel Bissett over on BookTube and I’ve seen it floating around on all my favourite channels and blogs. I wasn’t tagged to do this but I’m going to anyway and I’m possibly about to get a little controversial! (Quick disclaimer: all opinions expressed in this post are my own and definitely shouldn’t affect your own opinions of a book!)

1 // An Over-Hyped book: Let’s start this off with a Zombie Apocalypse! Let’s say you’re in a book store, just browsing, when BAM! ZOMBIE ATTACK. An announcement comes over the PA System saying that the military has discovered that the zombies’ only weakness is over-hyped books. What book that everyone else says is amazing but you really hated do you start chucking at the zombies knowing that it will count as an over-hyped book and successfully wipe them out?!

For this, I think I’m going to have to be completely honest and say Dumplin’. I didn’t hate this book but I certainly didn’t love it. It’s been so talked up on Booklr and Bookstagram for it’s theme and message but for me it just fell a little flat and wasn’t really worth the hype.

18304322

2 // A Sequel: Let’s say you’ve just left the salon with a SMASHING new haircut and BOOM: Torrential downpour. What sequel are you willing to use as an umbrella to protect yourself?

For this one, I’m choosing Ten Thousand Skies Above You. Again, I didn’t hate this book but I definitely did not enjoy it as much as I did the first book in the Firebird series. It didn’t meet my expectations and even though the cover is super pretty, I really wouldn’t mind using it to protect my super fly haircut.

17234659

3 // A Classic: Let’s say you’re in a lecture and your English teacher is going on and on about how this classic changed the world, how it revolutionised literature and you get so sick of it that you chuck the classic right at his face because you know what? This classic is stupid and it’s worth detention just to show everyone how you feel! What classic did you chuck?

I haven’t read many classics because I generally don’t enjoy them so picking one will be hard because I’ve enjoyed all the ones I have read. But nevertheless, I think I’m going to say The Great Gatsby. I know what some of you may be thinking because I know there are a lot of people who love this and I did too.. Mostly. It was confusing and I didn’t feel much of a connection to the characters. I often didn’t know what was happening and had to put it down the first time I tried it because it was just too much. Though I was sad towards the end, it just didn’t pack a punch for me like I thought it would so I would gladly chuck this at my teacher’s face.

4671

4 // Your least favourite book of life!: Let’s say that you’re hanging out at the library when BAM global warming explodes and the world outside becomes a frozen wasteland. You’re trapped and your only chance for survival is to burn a book. What is the book you first run to, your least favourite book of all life, what book do you not fully regret lighting?

Oh stars, this is the easiest choice ever. GONE BY MICHAEL GRANT. I hated this book SO MUCH. I found it juvenile and really just outright ridiculous. I couldn’t stand the characters and the things that happened to them… I mean come on, a kid grew FREAKIN’ TENTACLES. I had such high hops for this books because the blurb made it sound so interesting but it just… GAH. I don’t even know why it’s still on my shelves. I would be so happy to set this book on fire and laugh while it burns.

6473592

So there you have it, the Book Sacrifice tag! This tag was so much fun; it feels good to rant about books I didn’t like every once in a while!

I tag:

Giovanna @ Book Coma

Tamara @ Tamaraniac

Elin @ Little Bookworld Reviews

Alyssa @ Alyssa is Reading

Brigette @ The Book and the Bone

5 thoughts on “BOOK TAG | Book Sacrifice

Leave a Reply

