Reviews

REVIEW + DISCUSSION | Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

illuminae discussionTitle: Illuminae
Author: Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff
Genres: Young Adult, Sci-Fi, Romance
Pages: 599
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Synopsis: This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she’d have to do.
This afternoon, her planet was invaded.
The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra—who are barely even talking to each other—are forced to fight their way onto an evacuating fleet, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit.
But their problems are just getting started. A deadly plague has broken out and is mutating, with terrifying results; the fleet’s AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be their enemy; and nobody in charge will say what’s really going on. As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth, it’s clear only one person can help her bring it all to light: the ex-boyfriend she swore she’d never speak to again.

Review & Discussion: I’m going to try and keep this spoiler free, but this book was epic.

So many people had recommended this book to me and I kept putting off. I knew it was going to be great and I just wanted to wait a bit to experience that. But I think I definitely picked it up at the right time and it was a greta book to end January with.

Illuminae is told in case files, emails, IM’s, medical records and even the stream of consciousness from an AI. The format of the book was so unique and that’s what drew me in.
IMG_1200It follows Kady and Ezra, a couple living on a planet of ice. Kady has just dumped Ezra and now her planet has been invaded. This is basically a story of love and revenge. Kady and Ezra want to find out why a mega corporation has destroyed their planet and make them pay for it. While doing this, the pair are separated and finding their way back to each other.

I found this book to be a little confusing at times, I didn’t always know what was going on. It was a bit slow at the beginning but around 100 pages in, it really started to pick up. I found myself attached to Kady and Ezra. I was invested in their relationship, hoping they would get back together and have their happy ending. I was also captivated by all the science fiction elements of this novel.

The world building in this book was excellent; I didn’t want to leave. The diagrams throughout the book really helped me picture the different environments. The writing so descriptive but it wasn’t dumping.

ILLUMINAE BRAVERY.jpgI managed to power through this book in two days, it was such an easy read. Some of my favourite parts were those told from AIDEN’s (the AI) point of view. They were so poetic and those parts were formatted in such an interesting and unique way.

Basically this book was unique and epic. It had adorable romance, a kickass battle and it ended on a cliffhanger that has just left me wanting more. I am so excited for the sequel, I need it now. *grabby hands* I definitely recommend this book to people who love their sci-fi with some awesome romance thrown in.

 

I know I don’t usually post on a Saturday but I had a hard time with blogging this week and this post has gone up a bit later than planned. If there’s anything specific you want to see me blog about, definitely mention it in the comments!

 

3 thoughts on “REVIEW + DISCUSSION | Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Leave a Reply

