Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Enjoyed Recently that were a New Genre

ttt newTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme/feature created by The Broke and The Bookish. More information and bookish goodness can be found here.

This weeks TTT was really quite difficult for me because I haven’t really branched out lately so here is a list ofย five books/series I read recently that were a new genre and I absolutely loved!

23395680Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
I don’t usually like sci-fi. I often find it to be boring and confusing and I just don’t really enjoy it. But I really liked this book! I think it’s partially because of the format but it really did help make the book interesting and it kept me entertained.

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken20983362
I was so hesitant going into this book because I’d seen people say it wasn’t worth the hype but I actually really loved it! I don’t usually like historical fiction but I really enjoyed that aspect of this novel. I was never bored and it’s made me want to pick up more YA historical fiction.

18166936The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Lesyle Walton
Though I didn’t love this book, I enjoyed it for the most part and the reason it’s on this list is because it was the first magical realism novel I read. I did find it to be quite boring, especially at the beginning, but I found this genre to be so interesting and different from other books I’ve read.

The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer11235712
Woo more science fiction! But these are actually on the list because they were the first retellings I read. I’d always been interested in reading fairytale retellings but I hadn’t found any that captured my interest until the Lunar Chronicles. They were such awesome sci-fi retellings and I absolutely adore them!

13643567Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin
Though YA paranormal/supernatural isn’t a new genre to me, it had been more than two years since I had read anything like it. And, maaaaan, did I love the Mara Dyer trilogy! It was so intense and captivating and it sucked me right in. YA paranormal’s are definitely on my radar now.

 

 

 

There you have it! I wish I could think of 10 books for this list but I just haven’t started reading any new series lately. Link your TTT post in the comments and I’ll be sure to check it out!

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Enjoyed Recently that were a New Genre

  1. The Lunar Chronicles would definitely make my list as well! The premise seems so unappealing, and I hadn’t ever read a retelling before either. I ended up loving them!

    Like

  2. The Lunar Chronicles book are on my TBR. I love fairytale retellings but I tend not to go too much into Sci-fi so I really hope I’ll like them. Everyone else loved these books, I’d be disappointed if I was left out. I’ve seen reviews of Passenger but I hadn’t looked too much into it before today. It sounds really interesting !

    Like

Leave a Reply

