Reviews

REVIEW + DISCUSSION: The Unbound by Victoria Schwab (SPOILERS)

the unbound reviewTitle: The Unbound (The Archived #2)
Author: Victoria Schawb
Genres: YA, Fantasy, Mystery, Romance, Paranormal
Pages: 360
Publisher: Hyperion
Synopsis: Imagine a place where the dead rest on shelves like books. Each body has a story to tell, a life seen in pictures that only Librarians can read. The dead are called Histories, and the vast realm in which they rest is the Archive.
Last summer, Mackenzie Bishop, a Keeper tasked with stopping violent Histories from escaping the Archive, almost lost her life to one. Now, as she starts her junior year at Hyde School, she’s struggling to get her life back. But moving on isn’t easy — not when her dreams are haunted by what happened. She knows the past is past, knows it cannot hurt her, but it feels so real, and when her nightmares begin to creep into her waking hours, she starts to wonder if she’s really safe.
Meanwhile, people are vanishing without a trace, and the only thing they seem to have in common is Mackenzie. She’s sure the Archive knows more than they are letting on, but before she can prove it, she becomes the prime suspect. And unless Mac can track down the real culprit, she’ll lose everything, not only her role as Keeper, but her memories, and even her life. Can Mackenzie untangle the mystery before she herself unravels?

Review + Discussion: As this is a sequel, this review might be spoilery so if you haven’t read The Unbound, I suggest you do before reading this! And if you’re interested, you can check out my review of The Archived.

I had almost forgotten what I loved about these books but as soon as I read the first page, it all came rushing back to me!

In The Unbound, we follow Mac in the events that take place after The Archived. She’s about to start attending Hyde School, she’s plagues by nightmares and she’s no entirely sure but think she might be losing her mind. So much happens in this novel and it is all so epic and action-packed and it was so, so, so gripping.

2016-02-22_1456109454I love the characters in these books. Mackenzie and Wes are so complex and interesting, trying to navigate normal teenage life while also keeping their involvement with The Archived secret. I LOVE WES SO MUCH. He’s caring and sweet and his commitment to Mac is so adorable. He’s also a badass when it comes to being a Keeper, so really he is everything.

I loved the world building in this novel. I could picture Hyde School and the Coronado and all the characters and just everything that was happening.The world of this series is so unique and I just loved being apart of it while I was reading this book. I also really loved the writing style. I was hooked from the very beginning, entranced in this story that was paced so well and written beautifully.

I know this review is short but that’s because I don’t want to get too spoilery. I will say I loved this novel, I love the world, the characters, the writing just everything about it. I can’t wait until The Returned is released because I NEED TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS NEXT! I recommend this series sooo hard, you should ALL read it *throws books at you* PLEASE.

my verdict

★★★★★

 

One thought on “REVIEW + DISCUSSION: The Unbound by Victoria Schwab (SPOILERS)

Leave a Reply

