Hauls TBR Wrap Ups

March Wrap Up!

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

read this month
Somehow I managed to read 12 books in March, and three of them were actually on my TBR for the month! So here’s a list of all the books I managed to complete this month!

 

A Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnston – ★★★★☆
I enjoyed this book a lot more than I expected to. It is a retelling of something I haven’t read before but I liked the Arabian folklore aspect of it, especially since I hadn’t read anything in that setting before. The plot and world building wasn’t super fantastic but I still enjoyed it!

One Day by David Nicholls – ★★★★☆
This was pretty slow at first and it took me a while to get into it, but once I did I loved it! It was bittersweet and inspiring and sad and just made me feel so many things, I think it’s one of the best adult books I’ve read!

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes – ★★★★☆
I was expecting this book to make me super sad and turn me into a blubbering mess but it didn’t. It was still so touching and heartbreaking and uplifting, I highly recommend this! I cannot wait for the movie adaptation!

The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon – ★★★☆☆
It took me about a week to get through this which is a lot longer than it usually takes me to finish a book. The first half was slow and often boring but it definitely picked up towards the end. I didn’t love it but I didn’t hate it either and I’m looking forward to seeing how it progresses in the sequel.

The Yearbook Committee by Sarah Ayoub – ★★★☆☆
This book let me down a little bit which was sad since it’s Australian YA. But it made me feel so many things and I really enjoyed the plot, I just don’t think it was executed super well. You can see my review here.

Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare – ★★★★★
This was amazing and I absolutely loved it. Straight away I could see how much Cassandra’s writing has improved and I loved being in the Los Angeles Institute with Emma Carstairs, Julian Blackthorn and the rest of the Blackthorn clan. You can see my non-spoiler and spoiler review here.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

This is Where it Ends by Marieke Nijkamp –  ★★★★☆
I had high hopes for this and though it didn’t live up to them, I still loved this book. This deals with such an important, prominent and serious topic that I think it’s one everybody should read. It was sad and touching and just inspiring in so many ways. I highly recommend this!

Stars Above by Marissa Meyer – ★★★★☆
I loved returning to the world of the Lunar Chronicles though I didn’t enjoy all of these novellas. Most of them take place before Cinder and one takes place after Winter. I absolutely loved being with these characters again but I was expecting more.

Maresi by Maria Turstchaninoff – ★★☆☆☆
I’ll be completely honest, I didn’t like this book. There was hardly any world building and I didn’t understand the plot. I was just so confused for this whole novel and reading it felt like a chore. I wish I had liked this but it just wasn’t for me.

Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard – ★★★★☆
I had a lot of problems with this book but overall I enjoyed it. It was slow to begin with but it eventually picked up. I didn’t like Mare very much, she just bugged me for a lot of this novel but I really enjoyed the rest of these characters. I’m looking forward to seeing the growth and development of the characters and plot in the next novel.

The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner – ★★★★★
I absolutely loved this book. It was uplifting and heartbreaking and inspiring and I just could not put it down! I loved the characters and the plot and the writing and just everything about it, I highly recommend this novel! You can see my review here.

Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton – ★★★★☆
This was confusing at first because I had no idea where this was set but I soon realised it’s Western meets Middle East in an epic fantasy world and I loved it! This book had a badass female protagonist and a sweet prince as well as a group of rebels. What’s not to love? I highly recommend this book!

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

listening to

IMG_1627
March was also the month I discovered the amazingness that is Hamilton. I’d seen this all over the internet but wasn’t super interested in it because it’s American history and I’m not American. But I finally caved and fell in love INSTANTLY. This soundtrack literally gives me life and it’s the only thing I can listen to at the moment. I also did the Hamilton book tag this month, which you can see here!


There you have it, my March wrap up! It was a pretty good reading month for me, so I want to know how many books you read in March! What was your favourite? And who else is OBSESSED WITH HAMILTON??!!

 

(I know my haul wasn’t included in this post. It will be going up sometime next week because it is massive and not all of my books have come in yet, so stay tuned!)

 

 

5 thoughts on “March Wrap Up!

  1. Wow! What a great month. I’m really looking forward to Rebel of the Sands! And we read some of the same books. Haha. Buuuuuut most importantly I must comment on Hamilton. Because everyone needs to listen to Hamilton. And love Hamilton. Because Hamiltoooooon. You don’t need to be American or even like history to love Hamilton. It’s just THAT GOOD!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

