Reviews

REVIEW: Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

shadow and bone review.jpgTitle: Shadow and Bone (Grisha #1)
Author: Leigh Bardugo
Pages: 308
Publisher: Indigo
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult, Paranormal
Synopsis: The Shadow Fold, a swathe of impenetrable darkness, crawling with monsters that feast on human flesh, is slowly destroying the once-great nation of Ravka.
Alina, a pale, lonely orphan, discovers a unique power that thrusts her into the lavish world of the kingdom’s magical elite – the Grisha. Could she be the key to unravelling the dark fabric of the Shadow Fold and setting Ravka free?
The Darkling, a creature of seductive charm and terrifying power, leader of the Grisha. If Alina is to fulfil her destiny, she must discover how to unlock her gift and face up to her dangerous attraction to him.
But what of Mal, Alina’s childhood best friend? As Alina contemplates her dazzling new future, why can’t she ever quite forget him?

Review: I didn’t have super high expectations for this book because I’ve seen a lot of not so great reviews but I was pleasantly surprised!

I absolutely loved the world in this novel. It wasn’t extremely unique but I really enjoyed being there. It was intricate and had a lot of depth to it that I wasn’t really expecting. There was a lot of world building which I was happy to see.

I quite enjoyed the protagonist, Alina. She went through so much development in 300 pages. I wasn’t the biggest fan of her in the beginning; I thought she was a bit whiny and she often bugged me, but I really liked the growth she went through and the person she became in the end.

DSC_0004 (1)I know I shouldn’t, but I can’t help shipping Alina with the Darkling. I just love him SO MUCH, I want them to be together! I wasn’t crazy about Mal for most of this book but he started to grow on me towards the end. Though I’m not sure if I want him with Alina because I just don’t think he’s right for her. I can’t help but hope that the romance in this trilogy will be similar to that of Shatter Me… I JUST WANT ALINA AND THE DARKLING TO HAVE A HAPPY ENDING.

This is the first book by Leigh Bardugo that I’ve read. I’d been wanting to pick her stuff up for so long but just kept putting it off and I’m surprised by how much I loved her writing. I’m not sure what it was but I just wasn’t at all bored while reading this. Sometimes I had a bit of an issue with the pacing, I felt like A LOT was happening in a really short amount of time/pages.

I just really enjoyed this book: the characters, the world, the plot, the writing, the pacing… Just everything! I’m really looking forward to diving into the sequel, Siege and Storm, and seeing where this story goes!

my verdict

★★★★☆

3 thoughts on “REVIEW: Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

Leave a Reply

