Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Five Authors Every New Reader Should Try

top ten tuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme/feature created by The Broke and The Bookish. More information and bookish goodness can be found here!

I really struggled to think of an idea for this weeks TTT post. But then I remembered that a couple of weeks ago, I was asked by a non/new reader what authors they should try so I decided to share with you allΒ five authors I recommend for those who are new to reading or don’t read much!

5 // John Green
Obviously John Green had to be on this list. I’m not a huge Green fan now, but when I was getting into reading I binge read pretty much all of his books and it was a great introduction to YA and helped me find a lot of other YA authors.

4 // Rainbow Rowell
Rainbow Rowell is another author I read before I started book collecting. Reading Eleanor and Park got me to pick up her other books which led to me finding similar authors.

3 // Cassandra Clare
I first read City of Bones around four years ago and it was the first urban fantasy I’d read. The Mortal Instruments was such a great series to get me into that genre and pushed to pick up other fantasy books.

2 // Sarah Dessen
I think Sarah Dessen is my all time favourite contemporary author and I have been reading her for years, long before I got right into reading. I would definitely recommend her books to anyone wanting to pick up some nice, fluffy YA for the first time.

1 // Suzanne Collins
Yes, yes I know this is extremely predictable but after I started TMI I picked up the Hunger Games which lead me to loving dystopian. I know probably 8/10 people have read this trilogy but if you haven’t and you want to get into the dystopian/sci-fi (ish) genre, I would highly recommend it!

 

There you have it, five authors I recommend every new or non-reader should check out! I read most of these authors for the first time years ago and they really shaped my love of reading. Tell me in the comments what authors you would suggest for a non-reader! Do you agree with my recommendations?Β Also, let me know what you think of the new header image! I quite like it!

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Five Authors Every New Reader Should Try

  1. Sarah Dessen was an author I loved and when I started reading again I started picking up authors that were listed as similar to her. Definitely a great choice.Love the rest of your list, I hate suggesting books to people because if they don’t like it then it’s always a huge bummer lol

    Like

  2. I love most of the authors in this post too!! I haven’t read a lot of Sarah Dessen books though, so I’m not sure if I like her style or not. It was also THG which led me to like dystopian novels haha. Great post and I love the new header!!!

    For non-readers, I would definitely recommend books by V. E. Schwab and Megan Whalen Turner. πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

