Reviews

REVIEW + DISCUSSION: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

six of crows.pngTitle: Six of Crows (Six of Crows #1)
Author: Leigh Bardugo
Pages: 495
Publisher: Indigo
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult, Adventure
Synopsis: Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…
A convict with a thirst for revenge.
A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.
A runaway with a privileged past.
A spy known as the Wraith.
A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.
A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.
Six dangerous outcasts. One impossible heist. Kaz’s crew is the only thing that might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Review + Discussion: Six of Crows has earned a spot on my favourites of 2016. I absolutely loved this book so INSANELY MUCH, and let me just start by saying that I enjoyed this infinitely more than the Grisha trilogy.

Once again, Leigh’s writing is wonderful as is the world building. Everything in this novel just flowed so well and I was never, ever bored. I could picture Ketterdam and Fjerda and everywhere else mentioned so well because the writing style and world building paints such a picture which is so important to me in a novel.

NMNFThe characters are SO MUCH BETTER. I feel like Kaz, Inej, Jesper, Nina, Matthias, Waylan, just all the characters are so much more developed and they each have suck interesting and unique backstories that I wanted to know everything about their pasts. These characters are all complete badasses and the females in this novel are amazing and kick ass and I just want to be part of the Dregs. Like please?

This plot is so good and intense and riveting and I jus couldn’t put this book down. These six characters need to pull off a heist that is pretty much impossible and HOW GREAT DOES THAT SOUND? The plot paired with the world and characters and writing just sucked me in so completely that I didn’t put it down but couldn’t stop reading.

Though the main focus of this novel is about the fantastical elements, there is romance and it is quite on point. All the lovey dovey, cheesy scened left me wanting more and I really liked that! I don’t like when a fantasy novel focuses on romance more than the actual fantasy and that wasn’t the case with this book. That being said, I hope I see some of my OTP’s coming to life in Crooked Kingdom.

terrible truths kind liesIf you haven’t read this novel you definitely need to because it is actually amazing. The characters are all badasses trying to pull off something that should be impossible in a world that is not all that forgiving. What is there not to love? I have so much more love for the Grisha world now and I am anxiously awaiting the release of the sequel.

my rating

★★★★★


THE FOLLOWING SECTION WILL INCLUDE SPOILERS! Read on at your own risk! If you haven’t read Six of Crows, I recommend you stop reading and go read it then come back and we’ll chat!


These characters are everything I have ever wanted. Kaz is my absolute favourite and I love how we got to see more and more of his past as the book went on. I loved reading from his point of view but I do wish we had more chapters from his perspective. I just need more Kaz in my life! Inej was my second favourite and I ship her with Kaz SO HARD. I was swooned so bad when we saw more of Kaz’s feelings towards her and I was practically chanting ‘KISS KISS KISS’ when they were on the roof of the Ice Court and again on the boat. Even though they didn’t get together, those scenes gave me so much happiness and hope for them in Crooked Kingdom.

giphy

I loved seeing bits and pieces in the pasts of Kaz and Inej. I really liked seeing how far they had come. Kaz from that little boy who lost his brother while he survived the same illness. And Inej making a life and a name for herself after leaving the pleasure house. I really want to see more of their pasts in the sequel.

I am also shipping Jesper and Wylan so hard! I love Jesper so much, he’s goofy and adorable and passionate even though he has a bit of a gambling problem. His behaviour just made me laugh so often and I looooooooooooved his chapters. I am super curious to know if he’s gay or bisexual but it doesn’t even matter because he NEEDS TO BE WITH WYLAN. Wylan is also adorable and smart and just a cutie, really. I loved the scene when they’ve been taken to the Ice Court’s prison and they’re about to break out and Jesper is just straight out flirting with Wylan. I just love Jesper so much.

I wasn’t the biggest fan of Nina or Matthias but I appreciated the amount of growth the two of them went through. But if I’m being honest I found their chapters a bit boring and I just didn’t care about them as much as the others. I did really enjoy their banter and flashbacks though. It took me a little while to warm up to Matthias but I eventually grew to like him. I think I would have liked Nina more if she had played a bigger role. I feel like she wasn’t quite as important to their plans as everyone else. Hopefully I’ll like them more in the next book.

I was so excited when I read the mentions of Alina, Mal, Nikolai, Genya and Zoya. I’d been told characters from the Grisha trilogy were mentioned in this but I didn’t expect it to make me so happy. I was hoping for more of an insight as to what Ravka was like after everything that happened but I didn’t really get much. Oh well!

I did really enjoy the humour in this book. I wasn’t expecting there to be as much as there was but there was quite a lot, particularly from Jesper and Kaz as well as Matthias and Nina. I loved the banter between characters and how the dialogue seemed really natural.

In terms of growth, I think Matthias went through the most out of all the characters. When he first appears in the story he is so against Nina and just all Grisha but by the end his ways haven’t changed completely but they’re starting to. I felt like it was really realistic in the sense that he didn’t alter his beliefs in a few days for one person and I really liked that because we don’t see it all the time in novels.

This book had so many plot twists and if I’m being honest, I didn’t see them all coming! I was honestly surprised when Brum took Nina and ended up locking her in a cell and BAM there’s Matthias being all cold. I just did not see that coming! But I did know he was just putting on an act about one page later because come on. But the plot twist at the ending when Kaz and the Crew go to receive their payment from Van Eck, I did not that expect that! Just like I didn’t expect Inej to be kidnapped or for Kaz to turn to Rollins for money. But I really enjoyed that last chapters because I think that’s when a lot of Kaz’s emotions shone through, especially the ones of Inej.

I don’t really know what else to say about this novel except I absolutely loved it. It was to fantastic and everything I had been looking for. I was a little bit worried because of all the hype surrounding but it totally deserves it! I need Crooked Kingdom ASAP!

Let me know your thoughts on Six of Crows in the comments!

3 thoughts on “REVIEW + DISCUSSION: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

  1. I LOVED THIS SOOO MUCH! I shipped Inej and Kaz so hard! (Jesper + Wylan = YASSSS) I enjoyed Grisha but this was a lot more interesting. I loved how there were all these little references to Grisha and I really hope they go to Ravka (WHAT IF MAL AND ALINA HAVE KIDS?!?)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

