Reviews

REVIEW: Made You Up by Francesca Zappia

made you up reviewTitle: Made You Up
Author: Francesca Zappia
Pages: 430
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Mental Illness, Romance
Synopsis: Reality, it turns out, is often not what you perceive it to be—sometimes, there really is someone out to get you. Made You Up tells the story of Alex, a high school senior unable to tell the difference between real life and delusion. This is a compelling and provoking literary debut that will appeal to fans of Wes Anderson, Silver Linings Playbook, and Liar.
Alex fights a daily battle to figure out the difference between reality and delusion. Armed with a take-no-prisoners attitude, her camera, a Magic 8-Ball, and her only ally (her little sister), Alex wages a war against her schizophrenia, determined to stay sane long enough to get into college. She’s pretty optimistic about her chances until classes begin, and she runs into Miles. Didn’t she imagine him? Before she knows it, Alex is making friends, going to parties, falling in love, and experiencing all the usual rites of passage for teenagers. But Alex is used to being crazy. She’s not prepared for normal.

Review: I loved this book, so much more than I was expecting to. I hadn’t seen a whole lot of reviews or people talking about it so I was a little skeptical but oh my, it was so good! Alex and Miles were so great. The writing was beautiful and it all flowed so well. It gave me ALL THE FEELINGS.

The characters in this book were so great. I loved Alex and I adored Miles. They both worked so well together for so many different reasons. I loved how accepting Miles was of Alex’s mental illness, how it didn’t change the way he saw her and how respectful and understanding he was.I really, really, really enjoyed seeing how Alex grew by herself. There was so much difference between who she was at the start of the book and who she was at the end. I loved them together but I also really liked them on their own. I feel like they went through a lot of growth separately and as a couple and I loved seeing that. Their relationship was just so cute.

I also really enjoyed the side characters of this book. At the beginning, I hated Alex’s mother. I felt like she was really insensitive to what Alex had to deal with but I really liked her dad. I really liked when a book has a strong family dynamic and this book had one. Though the relationship between Alex and her mum was tense at best, I still really enjoyed seeing it.

I feel like it dealt with mental illness, schizophrenia specifically, really well. I’d never read a book about that mental illness and I think it was portrayed so well in Made You Up. Especially because deals with visual hallucinations which aren’t as common as audial hallucinations.

IMG_2001

There were some bits of this novel that confused me, but their were a few plot twists I just didn’t see coming and took me by complete surprise. I adored the writing and the pacing. It all flowed so well and it kept me entertained and entranced. I really enjoyed how it sometimes switched from the present to the past in a way that wasn’t annoying but just felt normal.

This book was lighthearted and intense, at so many parts I wanted to cry and then I wanted to giggle from all the cuteness. I was left with so many good feelings when I finished, I just wanted more! I flew through this book in a few hours because I just couldn’t bear to put it down.

I seriously, seriously, seriously recommend this book. It was a great contemporary dealing with some tough subjects we don’t see expressed in YA novels all that often. Zappia created characters I would want as my friends and support system in a book I just didn’t want to end. Made You Up has definitely earned a spot on my 2016 Favourites.

my rating

★★★★★


I’m sorry it’s been so long since I posted! I’ve had no inspiration this past week and I’ve been doing a lot of reading. But I’ll be starting to post regularly again!

3 thoughts on “REVIEW: Made You Up by Francesca Zappia

Leave a Reply

