Reviews

REVIEW: When We Collided by Emery Lord

when we collided review.pngTitle: When We Collided
Author: Emery Lord
Pages: 352
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult, Romance, Mental Illness
Synopsis: We are seventeen and shattered and still dancing. We have messy, throbbing hearts, and we are stronger than anyone could ever know…
Jonah never thought a girl like Vivi would come along.
Vivi didn’t know Jonah would light up her world.
Neither of them expected a summer like this…a summer that would rewrite their futures.

Review: For most of this book, I had mixed feelings. It took a long time for the characters to grow on me but by the end I was tearing up with sadness and happiness. Because it’s nearly been a month and I am still struggling to put my thoughts and feelings about this book into words, here are some lists!

What I Liked:

  • The writing style was so beautiful, especially in Vivi’s chapters. The language painted a picture for me while I was reading and it was so vivid and colourful, it was really nice to read.
  • I loved the family aspect of this novel. I loved Vivi’s mum and Jonah’s siblings. I really like seeing strong family relationships in novels and When We Collided definitely delivered.
  • I also really loved the side characters. They were such a nice addition and I think I would definitely read a novel solely about Ellie because I actually really loved her!
  • I was really happy with the representation of mental illness in this book. Though I can’t tell you the details of the mental illness, I really liked how it was written and portrayed.
  • Though it took a while for them to grow on me, I liked Jonah and Vivi. Though I didn’t start to like them until the second half.

DSC_0052

What I Wasn’t Such a Fan of:

  • The insta-love in this book is SO REAL and I did not like it. I was like twenty pages in and then BAM these two characters were in love. It annoyed me so much.
  • For the first half of the book I thought Vivi was rude and selfish, though it became apparent why later on. I also thought Jonah was a bit spineless, letting Vivi and his siblings push him around and rule his life. I just kept waiting for him to stand up for himself.
  • Sometimes I had an issue with the pacing. I couldn’t really tell how time was moving because the relationship between Vivi and Jonah progressed really fast and I just was a bit confused.
  • It was a little slow. I didn’t enjoy the first half of this novel because I felt like it was all just dragging and it wasn’t picking up. Thankfully, the second half saved this book for me.

All in all, I think this was a really nice summer romance with a really great portrayal of mental illness and I think more people should read it because of the light it sheds on something so important.

my rating

★★★★☆

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: When We Collided by Emery Lord

  1. Awesome review! I also had a lot of trouble liking Vivi, but I very much liked Jonah. I felt like this wasn’t necessarily a love story, but more of a story about two people meeting at the right time. I do agree that Jonah was a little spineless though, which is why I didn’t end up shipping Vivi and him together.

    Glad you loved this though!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

