Bookish

REVIEW: The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

the unexpected everything reviewTitle: The Unexpected Everything
Author: Morgan Matson
Pages: 496
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
Synopsis: Andie has a plan. And she always sticks to her plan.
Future? A top-tier medical school.
Dad? Avoid him as much as possible (which isn’t that hard considering he’s a Congressman and he’s never around).
Friends? Palmer, Bri, and Toby—pretty much the most awesome people on the planet, who needs anyone else?
Relationships? No one’s worth more than three weeks.
So it’s no surprise that Andie’s got her summer all planned out too.
Until a political scandal costs Andie her summer pre-med internship, and lands both she and Dad back in the same house together for the first time in years. Suddenly she’s doing things that aren’t Andie at all—working as a dog walker, doing an epic scavenger hunt with her dad, and maybe, just maybe, letting the super cute Clark get closer than she expected. Palmer, Bri, and Toby tell her to embrace all the chaos, but can she really let go of her control?

Review: I loved this so insanely, ridiculously much with every fibre of my being. You all know how much I love Morgan Matson so I already knew how much I was going to love this. But my feelings for this were so UNEXPECTED and completely EVERYTHING.

I went into this book having pretty much no idea what it was about other than assuming it was about summer and it had dogs. The plot of Matson’s other novels was pretty straight forward and the synopsis’ of them gave a general idea. But so much of the plot of TUE was completely unexpected and left me on the edge of my seat.

The characters in this book were so so so amazing. I loved Andie so much, I loved joining her on a summer of walking dogs and I loved seeing how she grew throughout this novel. She went through so much development and it was so nice to see how different she was by the end. I espeically loved Clark! He was actually so adorable and I just really love having him be a main focus of the novel. He and the other male characters in this book were just so loveable. There were so many character arcs in this that I really enjoyed and I’ve noticed it’s something Morgan Matson is really good at in her novels.

Andie’s friendship group had me a little confused at first. I wasn’t sure if Toby was a guy or not and I got them mixed up quite a few times, but pretty quickly I was able to tell them apart and I knew all their traits and quirks and I grew to absolutely love them.

DSC_0059

This novel dealt with three key topics: friendship, family and romance. I love seeing strong family dynamics and bonds in YA and even though the relationship between Andie and her father was not great at first, in fact there was almost no relationship, it made me so happy to see how they worked on that throughout the novel. I especially liked how when it was all over, that relationship wasn’t necessarily fixed but it was getting there.

Another big topic of this book was grief which didn’t play the biggest part in this novel but was still so important. I think  the mourning Andie was going through was key to her development and I don’t think the story would have been the same without it.

The writing and the plot and pacing of this book were just fantastic. TUE contained all the things I love in a summer contemporary: pizza, ice-cream, scavenger hunts and dogs. There was sometimes a lot going on this novel but it never felt chaotic, it just felt right.

The Unexpected Everything absolutely, completely sucked me in from the get-go and I was so entranced I got through it in a day, I just wasn’t able to put it down. I highly recommend this for anyone who loves Morgan Matson, YA contemporaries and summer romances containing dog walking (and let’s be honest, who wouldn’t love a summer romance with lots of dogs?) because we ALL need this book in our lives!

my rating

★★★★★

5 thoughts on “REVIEW: The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

Leave a Reply

