Hauls TBR Wrap Ups

May Wrap Up!

may wrap upIn the month of May I read 21 books. 21. THAT IS CRAZY AND I DO NOT EVEN KNOW HOW I DID IT. In the last few weeks of the month I hit a real stride and was devouring a book every day and so many of them were so good, so here they are!

read this month

  • This is Where the World Ends by Amy Zhang – ★★★★☆
    I read Amy’s debut novel Falling Into Place last year and I really enjoyed it. TIWTWE was a really intense read and it definitely deals with some darker topics. But I really enjoyed it, the writing was awesome and I really liked the characters, but it fell a little flat for me.
  • The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater – ★★★★★
    I cannot believe this series is over. I absolutely loved this book and how The Raven Cycle wrapped up. When I finished this I didn’t even feel too sad about it being over because I was just so happy for the characters. If you haven’t read this series yet you NEED TO because it is AMAZING.
  • A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas – ★★★★★
    I LOVED THIS. I really enjoyed ACOTAR when it was released last year but ACOMAF was just on a whole other level! I could definitely see how much Maas has grown as a writer and I think I enjoyed this book even more than the first one. It’s been nearly weeks since I read it but I’m still thinking about it! I will say to those of you who haven’t read it yet that this books is QUITE STEAMY. I was not expecting as much sex as there was but WOAH. So keep that in mind if you’re picking this up anytime soon.
  •  Hamilton: The Revolution by Lin-Manuel Miranda & Jeremy McCarter – ★★★★★
    I love Hamilton so it’s only natural that I loved this. This book was just so fun and great and I’m so glad I own it since it’s probably the closest I will ever come to seeing the musical.
  • Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan – ★★★★☆
  • Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan – ★★★★☆
  • Percy Jackson and the Titan’s Curse by Rick Riordan – ★★★★★
  • Percy Jackson and the Battle of the Labyrinth by Rick Riordan – ★★★★★
  • Percy Jackson and the Last Olympian by Rick Riordan – ★★★★★
    I finally read the PJO series and I LOVED IT. I have so much love for Percy and Annabeth and Grover. AND HADES, I love Hades so much, he’s my fave. This series was so fun and adventurous and I loved loved loved reading it. (Who wants me to review the Heroes of Olympus series when I read it? Let me know in the comments!)
  • The Crown by Kiera Cass – ★★★★☆
    I enjoyed this, I thought it was a good conclusion to the Selection series but did fall a little flat. I felt like it was really rushed because it’s such a short book but I was pretty satisfied with the ending though I wasn’t the biggest fan of Eadlyn.
  • The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson – ★★★★★
    I love Morgan Matson and I loved this book! It was so cute and sweet and summery and it had DOGS and I just adored it! You can see my full review here.
Processed with VSCO with f2 preset
Processed with VSCO with f2 preset
  • Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas – ★★★★★
    This was a re-read for me and I think I enjoyed this book even more the second time around! I read ToG for the first time last year but decided to start re-reading the series in preparation for Empire of Storms. I know a lot of people don’t like this series and I can see why, but I still really enjoyed it!
  • Naomi and Ely’s No Kiss List by David Levithan & Rachel Cohn – ★★★☆☆
    The whole reason I read this book was because I wanted to watch the movie. Last year I watched Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist before I read the book and didn’t end up liking the book. For Naomi and Ely I didn’t end up liking either. The book was just disappointing and boring.
  • November 9 by Colleen Hoover – ★★★★★
    I really loved this book! I’d seen a lot of people saying they didn’t like it and that they thought the relationship was abusive but I didn’t see it that way. I love Colleen Hoover’s books and this definitely did not let me down!
  • The Sidekicks by Will Kostakis – ★★★☆☆
    I picked this up because I’d seen a lot of good things and it’s Australian but it didn’t live up to my expectations. It was good but it wasn’t great which made me a bit sad because I really wanted to like it!
  • My Sister Rosa by Justine Larbalestier – ★★★★★
    I. Loved. This. Book. It was so so so good and unique and different to anything I’ve read before! It kept me on the edge of my seat and it’s earnt a spot on my 2016 favourites! Keep an eye out for my review!
  • Just One Day by Gayle Forman – ★★★★★
    I was not expecting to love this book as much as I did! It was so light and cute and just so fun to read, I couldn’t put it down!
  • Just One Year by Gayle Forman – ★★★★☆
    Compared to the first book, this was so disappointed. I didn’t like that it was told from Willem’s point of view and the ending left me so completely unsatisfied but for the most part I enjoyed it and all the travel in it!
  • Pivot Point by Kasie West – ★★★★☆
    I was a little nervous going into this because it’s paranormal and that’s something I don’t read a lot of and I know Kasie West has published some contemporary novels but this was SO GOOD. I loved it so so so much and I immediately bought the sequel. This book had me so emotional and I just can’t get over it!
  • Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs – ★★★☆☆
    I really wanted to like this book… And I didn’t. It was so boring and so slow and the relationship made me really uncomfortable. There’s so much hype around this series and I can see why, but this first book just didn’t do it for me. I picked up Hollow City afterwards but I got really bored and ended up putting it down. I’m going to pick it up at a better time and give this trilogy another chance!
  • Forbidden by Tabitha Sazuma – ★★★★☆
    I really enjoyed this book despite it’s taboo and slightly disturbing topic. It made me so emotional and I just couldn’t deal with all the feelings I had when I finished. This book broke my heart and just stomped on it repeatedly. Keep an eye out for my review!

highlights and faves

May was an extremely uneventful month so I don’t really have any favourites. I only went to Melbourne a couple of times but I did see Captain America: Civil War and that was pretty great.

As per usual, I had Hamilton on repeat BUT I also finally listened to The Summer Set’s new album Stories for Monday. For those of you who don’t know, The Summer Set is my favourite band in the whole entire world and it has taken me AGES to listen to their new album but omg it is SO GOOD. Screen Shot 2016-05-31 at 10.44.57 PM

I was also SUPER obsessed with Spotify’s Cheesy Hits playlist! It had so many songs I grew up with and it just always makes me want to dance!

Screen Shot 2016-05-31 at 10.42.57 PM


So in terms of reading May was an awesome month! I can only hope June will be even better! How many books did you read in May? Let me know in the comments!

5 thoughts on “May Wrap Up!

  1. Wow, May was awesome for you! Congrats on being able to read so much! 😀 I read 6 books, but might finish a tiny 7th today. I’m proud of that since I had finals too. 😉 I’m so glad you finally read Percy Jackson and enjoyed it! Rick’s books are some of my absolute favorites. 😍

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my gosh, you read so many books this month!! That’s amazing. I read like 5 actual books and the rest were just graphic novels 😂 I’m so happy you loved the Percy Jackson series, it’s one of my all time favourites. Also, sorry to hear you were disappointed by The Sidekicks! And yay for The Summer Set! They’re so great.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

