Reviews

REVIEW: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

throne of glass reviewTitle: Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass #1)
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Synopsis: When magic has gone from the world, and a vicious king rules from his throne of glass, an assassin comes to the castle. She does not come to kill, but to win her freedom. If she can defeat twenty-three killers, thieves, and warriors in a competition to find the greatest assassin in the land, she will become the King’s Champion and be released from prison.
Her name is Celaena Sardothien.
The Crown Prince will provoke her. The Captain of the Guard will protect her.
And a princess from a foreign land will become the one thing Celaena never thought she’d have again: a friend.
But something evil dwells in the castle—and it’s there to kill. When her competitors start dying, horribly, one by one, Celaena’s fight for freedom becomes a fight for survival—and a desperate quest to root out the source of the evil before it destroys her world.

Review: I think I loved this even more the second time around. I have so much love for Sarah J. Maas’ writing and I’m so glad I’ve decided to re-read this series.

One of my favourite things about this book and the whole series is the characters. Celaena is such a great character. She’s badass, caring, loyal, smart and strong. She’s tough and sometimes comes off as cold but it’s obvious how passionately she feels about slavery. One of my favourite things about her is that she reads! I don’t think I’ve read many YA fantasy novels with a main character that enjoys reading and the scene where Celaena sees the palaces library for the first time made me so happy.

I love love love Dorian. He’s my cinnamon roll and right now, I ship him and Celaena SO HARD. He’s just sweet and caring and compassionate and willing to do what’s best for his country. His relationship with Celaena is really cute and I enjoy it SO MUCH. He’s also a little sassy which I looooove.

DSC_0057.jpg

Of course I can’t talk about Dorian without mentioning Chaol. I do not like Chaol. I didn’t like him the first time I read the books and I don’t like him now. He’s rude and cold and I think one of his very few redeeming qualities is his loyalty but that’s about it for me. I just don’t like him and I’m not a fan of the relationship he has with Celaena.

Also, can I just say that one of my favourite parts is when Celaena is on her period! I don’t think I’ve read many YA fantasy novels with female protagonists where a monthly cycle is actually acknowledged, and I’m so glad it was a thing in Throne of Glass!

The writing isn’t super fantastic but it flows nicely and I enjoy the transitions between the different points of view. I really like the plot and it’s still really different from other YA I’ve read. I enjoyed the pacing but sometimes it did feel a little slow but I adore this world. Each time I’ve read this book I’ve been unable to put it down because I just could never bring myself to leave the characters.

This book, once again, gave me ALL THE FEELS and I am so so so excited to be re-reading Crown of Midnight this month. Keep an eye out for my review!

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Throne of Glass is one of my all time favourite books — though, it is probably my least favourite of the entire series. I definitely agree with everything that you said in regards to Celaena. She is amazing, definitely one of my favourite female characters ever. Not only is Celaena tremendously bad-ass, but she has such a strong love for her friends.

    Though, I kind of disagree with you about Chaol. I absolutely loved Chaol in the first two books. And I shipped him SO HARD with Celaena. But now… my opinion has completely changed.

    Awesome review! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

