Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Reasons Why I Love the Book Community

top ten tuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme/feature created by The Broke and The Bookish. More information and bookish goodness can be found here!

I really struggled to think of a topic for this week’s TTT since I’ve already done a post about why I love YA and reading. But then I decided to talk about why I love the online book community since I don’t really do it very often. I stumbled across bookish social media last year and I was immediately in love, and here’s why!

10 // Finding All the Books
I have found so many new books and authors since joining bookstagram, booklr and creating my blog. I don’t think I would have picked up most of these books before I joined this community and now my TBR is perpetually massive!

9 // Fangirling
Whenever I read a book that I LOVE or even a book I hate, there’s always someone I can message and fangirl with or rant to. I can write a review and find heaps of people who felt the same way. There are endless amounts of people in this community who understand my book love and are willing to talk with me about it!

8 // So. Many. Book. Photos.
Not gonna lie, I LOVE looking at photos of books and the online bookish community is FULL of them. Scrolling through my Insta feed and looking at all the pretty books is one of my favourite things to do because WHO DOESN’T LIKE LOOKING AT BOOKS?

7 // World Wide Friends
Since becoming a part of this community, I have made so many friends from so many different countries! I love finding new book friends and finding some from overseas means that I have people I can meet up with when I start travelling. Plus, I can learn more about their country and tell them all about Melbourne which is just so awesome!

6 // Recommendations!
Making friends with other book lovers and being present in this community means that I often get book recommendations and I LOVE BEING RECOMMENDED BOOKS because I’m always looking for new books and ways to step out of my reading comfort zone.

5 // Diversity
I love how diverse this community is. Books are forΒ everyone and I love how anybody can become a part of it and be welcomed, no matter their religion, colour of their skin, sexuality, etc. This is such an open and kind community and there’s just so much love.

4 //Β You Are All Lovely
Going back to friendships, I’ve found that making a connection with someone in the book community is really easy because everyone is so nice. It’s not at all a big deal to message someone asking for their opinion on a book or a recommendation or if they want to buddy read because everyone is so lovely! It’s just so easy to become friends with someone because you know they love books just as much as you.

3 // Learning
This community has taught me so much. I’ve learnt to be more open minded, accepting and less judgemental.Β I definitely think the book community has helped me become a better person.

2 // Growth
This is similar to how much I’ve learnt, but I’ve also grown so much since joining the book community. I’ve started reading more diverse books, I’ve started picking up new genres and authors and I’m definitely more aware of the world and things going on because I have grown so much since I started reading and blogging.

1 // I HAVE FOUND MY PEOPLE
Honestly, this the best community out there and my absolute favourite thing is feeling like I’m not alone. In the last year I’ve learnt so much about myself and who I want to be and what I want to do. I’ve grown and branched out it’s made me a better person. This community and reading has helped me with my anxiety and I just love knowing there are so many other people out there who feel the same way I do about books.

Basically, the book community is amazing and I LOVE YOU ALL VERY VERY MUCH. Let me know in the comments some of your favourite things about the book community, and link your TTT post for me to check out!

21 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Reasons Why I Love the Book Community

  1. I totally agree with everything you just said!! I’ve only been here for two weeks or so, but already I can honestly say that joining the book blogging community is one of the best things that ever happened to me! πŸ™‚

    I’m currently on mobile so it’s hard to link my own TTT, but it’s the top post at my blog right now, if you want to check it out πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. YAYY I LOVE THIS LIST SO MUCH!! I love that book blogging has helped me find my people too. YAY THE BOOK PEOPLE. So much fangirling and recommendations and just general bookish delight. Also the photos?? Omg, whoever started bookstagram is a genius and I love them. The photos are MY FAVOURITE. I just want to look at book photos all day basically. ❀
    Your list is utter perfection!! πŸ˜€
    Here’s my TTT!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is SO ACCURATE!! ❀ It's so lovely in the book community when we get to interact with other fellow bookish people. There's always at least someone you can fangirl with too, like you said, which is absolutely AMAZING. And I've made so many friends here as well, from all over the world. It's all just perfect. ;D
    Here’s my TTT.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh I definitely love how amazing and friendly everyone in the community is. It makes fangirling with other people so much easier πŸ™‚ Great List, and I’m still not on instrgram but I should probably get on that because I love all of the book pictures people post and their shelfgoals.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I feel like I’ve become more judgmental via being more critical in assessing what I enjoy reading/didn’t enjoy and perhaps my enjoyment in the community stems from acknowledging the wide range of thoughts and knowledge and accepting them as they are and arguing them mindfully to build dialogue…if that makes sense? I don’t think it does but yes getting to know the community online and in person has been a wonderful experience for me too!

    Cheers,
    Joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

