Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Favourite 2016 Releases So Far

top ten tuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme/feature created by The Broke and The Bookish. More information and bookish goodness can be found here!

The first half of 2016 has been filled with fabulous releases. So here are ten of my favourites that I’ve read!

10 // A Tyranny of Petticoats edited by Jessica Spotswood
This is the only anthology I’ve read and I LOVED IT. Who doesn’t love a book of short stories set throughout American history about badass women? I definitely didn’t expect to love it as much as I did.

ForbiddenWish_BOM.indd9 // The Forbidden Wish by Jessica Khoury
This is an Aladdin retelling and it was so romantic and beautifully written. It took me a little while to get through because I was sick but it definitely one of my favourite releases this year.

8 // Stars Above by Marissa Meyer
I really enjoyed reading this and returning to the world of the Lunar Chronicles. Though I didn’t like all the stories, it’s still one of my favourite releases of 2016.

7 // Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamiltonrebel of the sands
I was not expecting to enjoy this as much as I did. It was so surprising how much I loved this! It’s this strange combination of middle eastern and western and fantasy and it was amazing, I loved it.

6 // A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab
V.E. Schwab is one of my favourite authors, as I’ve said a million times, and I really enjoyed this book! I didn’t like it as much as the first book it was still so fantastic!

my sister rosa5 // My Sister Rosa by Justine Larbalestier
This book was so suspenseful and it kept me on the edge of my seat which is why I loved it so much. Plus the characters were pretty great and it sucked me in completely.

4 // This is Where it Ends by Marieke Nijkamp
This was another book that was super suspenseful. It was poignant and important and I think it’s a book everybody should read and I really liked it.

3 // The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matsonthe unexpected everything
You all know I love Morgan Matson, she’s my favourite contemporary author and I loved this book. I adored this book. It had dogs and ice cream and pizza and a scavenger hunt and a cute romance and an awesome family dynamic. It definitely has earned it’s spot in my top three.

2 // Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare
This is my favourite Shadowhunter novel so far. I loved the characters and the writing and I am so excited for the sequel.

a court of mist and fury1 // A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas
I LOVE THIS BOOK. I think this may be favourite Sarah J. Maas book so far. I think I might like it more than the Throne of Glass series. The characters were amazing (umm RHYS!), the writing was fabulous and it was SO STEAMY and addictive. I just loved it so much!

 

What are your favourite releases so far this year? Let me know in the comments and link your TTT post and I’ll check it out!

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Favourite 2016 Releases So Far

  1. So many of my favorites are on this list. I would probably put Gathering of Shadows at the top but A Court of Mist and Fury is giving it a run for its money. That book blew my expectations out of the water!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

