Reviews

REVIEW: All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Title: All the Bright Places
Author: Jennifer Niven
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Realistic Fiction
Pages: 388
Publisher: Random House
Synopsis: Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks 
of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter 
how small, stops him. 
Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, 
when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of 
her sister’s recent death. 
When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s 
unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the
“natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more 
important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself —
a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all.
And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and
start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

all the bright places quote 3Review: It’s taken me a while to get my thoughts together enough to write this review. To put it simply though, this is officially one of my all time favourite books.

I have so much love in my heart for Finch and Violet. I felt so connected to them throughout this novel; I was feeling what they felt, seeing what they saw and I was just so invested in their wellbeing.

Finch is maybe one of my favourite characters of ever. He was so bright and colourful and emotional and just so lovely. There were a couple times when he bugged me a little but I was able to put those aside. Honestly, he was the kind of person I would want in my life despite his mental health issues.

I also have so much love for Violet. She was so strong and I loved being a part of her journey. I loved seeing the growth she went through and how different a person she was by the end of this book. In a lot of way, Violet reminded me of myself which is possibly why I felt so connected to her. She, too, is another of my favourite characters ever.

all the bright places quote 2

There were some really interesting side characters in this novel. Brenda, Amanda, Ryan, Charlie, Finch’s sisters, Violet’s sister and the parents. Honestly, I hated the parents/adults in this book. They just made me so mad because they could see Finch wasn’t okay, it was so obvious, and they did nothing to help him! Like, WHAT ARE YOU DOING?! That was one thing that annoyed me about Violet; she knew Finch wasn’t okay, he wasn’t himself and she didn’t really try to help him. She told her parents and that was it. I just feel like Finch should have had a lot more support from the people around him.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

The writing in this book is beautiful, it really is. It flows so well and the words are so vibrant and full of life. It’s one of the reasons I love it so much. The writing sucked me in and just wouldn’t let me go.

This book deals with so many important topics: grief, sadness, death, mental health, suicide, growth and family. Despite those things, this isn’t a book about dying, it’s a book about learning to live.

Also, can we just talk about for a second the fact that Germ is an actual online magazine? I just think that’s so cool because it’s such a key element in the book and it’s been brought to life.

all the bright places quote 1

I know a lot of people don’t like this book and I can understand why. But I love it so much. It’s so powerful and hard hitting and the themes are so so so important. If you haven’t read it yet, I highly recommend it. You might love it and you might not, but I’m almost positive you will finish it with a whole heap of feels and a new perspective on life.

Leave a Reply

