Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Favourite Books I’ve Read so Far this Year

top ten tuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme/feature created by The Broke and The Bookish. More information and bookish goodness can be found here!

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday is a freebie so I thought I’d take this opportunity to share 10 of my favourite books read so far this year! I have read so so so many good books this year, so here are some of them!

10 // The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner
This book was so powerful, poignant and uplifting. It was beautifully written and I loved it! Definitely one you should check out! You can see my review here.

night owls9 // Night Owls by Jenn Bennett
This book was sweet and short and fun and that’s exactly why I loved it. It was filled with passion and Beatrix and Jack both have a special place in my heart. You can see my review here.

8 // Winter by Marissa Meyer
This was tough because Cress was also in the running for this position on the list but Winter came out on top because of Winter. I just really loved her and this was such a great conclusion to what became one of my favourite series! You can see my review here.

7 // A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwaba darker shade of magic
V.E. Schwab is one of my favourite authors and this book was really different to anything I had read before. Honestly, who wouldn’t love a book about someone who can travel through alternate London’s? It was so great!

6 // The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson
You all know I love Morgan Matson and this may possibly be one of my favourite books by her! This was light and fun and summery, it had an interesting family dynamic and great friendships and I just loved the characters! You can see my review here.

made you up5 // Made You Up by Francesca Zappia
This was the first book I had read about a character with schizophrenia and that mental illness was portrayed to well! Not to mention I loved the characters and the writing; I still can’t stop thinking about this wonderful book. You can see my review here.

4 // Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare
I wasn’t expecting to love this book as much as I did because I was a little meh about TMI and I really enjoyed TID but this was just on a whole new level! I absolutely adored Emma and Jules and the whole Carstairs clan as well as the California Institute. You can see my review here.

3 // This Savage Song by V.E. Schwabthis savage song
This is one of my more recent reads and it really cemented my love for Schwab. This book has no romance and a lot of monsters and kickass characters. If you haven’t read it yet, you need to ASAP! Review to come.

2 // Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
Literally everyone and their mothers loves this book so I had high expectations, especially since I was a bit meh about the Grisha trilogy. But oh my did I love it! I love love love the characters and the world and writing and it was SO much better than the Grisha trilogy! You can see my review here.

a court of mist and fury1 // A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas
I don’t even really have words for how much I love this book. Maas has stepped up her game with this sequel and it was just absolutely amazing. I read this almost two months ago and all I want is to re-read it! If you haven’t picked up A Court of Thorns and Roses yet YOU NEED TO so you can read this stellar sequel!


Picking the books to go on this list was so hard because there are so many more that I’ve read and loved this year, but these are my absolute favourites! What are your favourite reads of 2016? Let me know in the comments and don’t forget to link your TTT post!

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Favourite Books I’ve Read so Far this Year

  1. Great list.👍

    It’s cool you’ve read a lot of good books this year. I had some reading reading slumps along the way and managed to just read some great books. My TTT this week is about books I want myself to read, lol.

    If you’re interested, here’s my list:

    Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books I’m Psyching Myself Up To Read – http://wp.me/p7ksIu-7J

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

