Bookish · Hauls TBR Wrap Ups

June 2016 Wrap Up!

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

In the month of June I read 15 books. To be honest, I’m a little disappointed since I read 21 books in May. But June was a little bit slumpy for me. I dedicated the first two weeks to a series and then I got sick and just didn’t feel like reading. But I did manage to pull through and I am pretty happy with the amount I read. So without further ado, here they are!

read this month

I am so glad I read this series! I absolutely love the world of Percy Jackson and Rick Riodan’s books and the Greek mythology. This series did include a fair bit of Roman Mythology which I wasn’t a huge fan of, but I still really enjoyed it and all the new characters as well as the originals.

IMG_2398

  • A Tyranny of Petticoats edited by Jessica Spotswood – ★★★★★
    This was my first anthologie and I loved it! I really loved all the stories and seeing all these authors I hadn’t read before. I found each of these short stories to be so empowering and they were just a lot of fun to read.
  • Split Second by Kasie West – ★★★★★
    In May I read Pivot Point and loved it. I was worried Split Second wouldn’t live up to the first book but it definitely did! I loved it so much! The only negative thing I have to say is I wasn’t a huge fan of the alternating POV’s but if you haven’t picked up this duology yet then DO IT DO IT DO IT.
  • The Forbidden Wish by Jessica Khoury – ★★★★☆
    I started this as I was getting sick so I had to put it down for a few days but when I picked it back up I couldn’t put it down! It was so beautifully written and romantic and I really enjoyed the Aladdin retelling aspect as it’s not a fairytale I’m too familiar with.
  • All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven (re-read) – ★★★★★
    While I was sick I had the hugest urge to pick this up for a re-read so I did it and I loved it and I cried for about 15 solid minutes and it broke my heart. I love this book so much! You can see my review here.
  • Binge by Tyler Oakley (audiobook) – ★★★★☆
    I decided to listen to the audiobook while I read this because Tyler narrates it and I really enjoyed it! It was funny and sometimes emotional. I liked listening along but I don’t think I’ll be jumping on the audiobook wagon.
  • Whisper to Me by Nick Lake – ★★★★★
    It took a while for me to get into this but once I did I couldn’t put it down. The cover is so deceiving and it definitely is not a light summer contemporary. It was dark and suspenseful and not at all what I expected but was so much better.
  • This Savage Song by V.E. Schwab – ★★★★★
    You all know I love V.E. Schwab so it should come as no surprise that I loved her newest book SO MUCH. Her writing is so wonderful and her characters are amazing and you need to pick this up if you haven’t already! You can see my review here.
  • Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch – ★★★★☆
    I’d been putting this off since November because I was worried it would be a high fantasy but I was pleasantly surprised to see that it had a lot more romance and a little less fantasy than I expected.
  • Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas (re-read) – ★★★★★
    Honestly, this is my least favourite installment in the Throne of Glass series. I seriously do not like the first half but I really love the second half which is why I’ve given it 5 stars. I am super excited for my re-read of Heir of Fire in July!
  • Delirium by Lauren Oliver – ★★★★☆
    This was another book I put off for a really long time. I’m not too sure why but I just didn’t want to read it. But I couldn’t decide what else to read so I picked it up and I’m surprised I enjoyed it so much. Though I didn’t like the protagonist, Lena, very much I still liked it a lot.

favourites

Orange_is_the_new_BlackI spent a lot of time watching Netflix in June, mostly watching season 4 of Orange is the New Black. I wasn’t a huge fan of this season but the second last episode had me bawling my eyes out.

SuitsLogo

I also spent a lot of time watching and re-watching season 5 of Suits. Suits is literally my favourite TV show right now, I just love it so much! I was such a huge fan of this new season even though it was really short. I just need season 6 immediately! If you haven’t seen it, you should definitely check it out!

Screen Shot 2016-06-30 at 7.15.05 PM

Once again I listened to Hamilton a lot… But I also finally listened to The 1975’s new album. I’m seeing them live in July and it’s about time I got around to listening to their new stuff. My favourite songs from this album right now are The Sound, Love Me, Paris and This Must Be My Dream.

page divider 1

How many books did you read in June? What were you watching/listening to? Let me in know in the comments!

2 thoughts on “June 2016 Wrap Up!

  1. Whoa, that is such an amazing reading month! I’m really glad you enjoyed The Heroes of Olympus series! The Percy Jackson books are one of my all time favourites. A bunch of the other books you read are on my TBR too. I’m especially excited for This Savage Song.

    The 1975 are amazing ♥

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

