Reviews

REVIEW: This Savage Song by V.E. Schwab

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Title: This Savage Songthis savage song
Author: V.E. Schwab
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Urban Fantasy, 
Paranormal
Pages: 411
Publisher: Titan Books
Synopsis: There’s no such thing as safe in a city 
at war, a city overrun 
with monsters. 
Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a 
divided city—a city where the violence has begun 
to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be 
as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters 
roam free and makes the 
humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as 
good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the 
innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a 
simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, 
who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home,
August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a 
failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives.

Review: I loved this so much, oh my god. I just don’t even have words. Since I love all the other books I’ve read by Schwab, I had pretty high hopes for this and it did not let me down!

We have two narrators in this: Kate and August. Both of them have huge shoes to fill since Kate’s dad, Callum Harker, basically owns the north of Verity and August’s dad, Henry Flynn, owns the south. These two men are basically mortal enemies and are so very different. They both have very different approaches to the monster situation in their supercity; Callum promises protection to those who pay and Henry and the FTF fight the monsters.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

I really loved Kate. She’s so badass and wants nothing more to be like her dad. She’s been to 5 schools in 6 years, waiting for him to bring her home and when he finally does all she wants to make him proud. Her character arc was huge, she went through so much growth and was really different in the end. I liked the relationship between her and her dad, even though for like 90% of the book it was non-existent.

August was so sweet and adorable but there was also a lot of darkness in him. Like Kate, his character arc was also huge and I really liked seeing the changes in him. He goes through a lot of internal struggle when he befriends Kate because she’s mean to be his enemy but I really enjoyed their friendship.

I really liked the Flynn family, though it took me a while to wrap my head around the three children being monsters and not just any monsters, but the extremely rare Sunai. But I really enjoyed their dynamic. I really liked Ilsa and I hope we see more of her in the next book. From the very beginning I hated Leo, I just couldn’t stand him. I have mixed feelings about Henry and Emily, August’s parents. I liked them but not all the time.

I don’t have much to say about Callum Harker other than I would really like to punch him in the face.

V.E. Schwab’s writing is so fantastic and beautiful and amazing and that’s part of why I love her books so much. The writing in this book flowed so well and completely sucked me in and kept me entranced. It was almost impossible for me to put this book down.

This was so different to anything I’ve read before. I had never read a book about monsters so this was a new experience for me and I loved it. I have no idea how I’m going to wait a year for the next book, especially with the way TSS ended. If you haven’t picked this up, or any of V.E. Schwab’s other books yet, you definitely need to.

my rating

★★★★★

3 thoughts on “REVIEW: This Savage Song by V.E. Schwab

  1. Great review! I have Vicious lined up and ready to be read (and really looking forward to it) and seeing how awesome TSS sounds, I forecast the same treatment haha Victoria Schwab is nothing less than perfect. I fell in love with her through her Shades of Magic series ❤ Agh, I do love her mind.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

