Reviews

REVIEW + DISCUSSION: Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset
Processed with VSCO with f2 preset
9781619630628Title: Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass #2)
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance
Pages: 418
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Synopsis:From the throne of glass rules a king with a 
fist of iron and a 
soul as black as pitch. Assassin Celaena Sardothien 
won a brutal contest 
to become his Champion. Yet Celaena is far from loyal 
to the crown. She 
hides her secret vigilantly; she knows that the man 
she serves is bent on evil.
Keeping up the deadly charade becomes increasingly difficult when Celaena 
realizes she is not the only one seeking justice. As she tries to untangle
the mysteries buried deep within the glass castle, her closest 
relationships suffer. It seems no one is above questioning her 
allegiances—not the Crown Prince Dorian; not Chaol, the Captain of the 
Guard; not even her best friend, Nehemia, a foreign princess with a rebel 
heart.
Then one terrible night, the secrets they have all been keeping lead to an
unspeakable tragedy. As Celaena's world shatters, she will be forced to 
give up the very thing most precious to her and decide once and for all 
where her true loyalties lie... and whom she is ultimately willing to 
fight for.

Review + Discussion: To be completely honest, this is my least favourite book in this series. I did really enjoy it both times I read it, but both times I was not a fan of the first half.

The only two characters in this installment I actually really liked were Dorian and Nehima. I love both of them so so so much.

I wasn’t  a huge fan of Celaena in part one. I thought she was really selfish, cold and careless with other people’s feelings. I feel like she did grow but not in a good way. She was willing to do nearly anything and hurt whoever she had to to get her freedom.

Once again, I did not like Chaol. There are just so many things I don’t like about him. But in CoM the biggest thing that made me dislike him was his blatant lack of respect for Dorian and his feelings. All I’m going to say is: BROCODE, MAN.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

I liked the introduction to Ironteeth, Bluebloods and Yellowlegs. I also really liked seeing Celaena open up about Sam and what happened to send her to Endovier.

The writing, pacing and world were still great and I really enjoyed the second half but I felt like I had to force myself through much of the first half. I just didn’t like the characters and the choices they were making and it bugged me so much.

Even though I’ve read this before, that ending still gave me so many feels and all I wanted was to dive into Heir of Fire. I managed to resist but I am so excited to get into it in July.

my rating

★★★★★

WARNING! SPOILER ALERT! The next part of the review will contain spoilers for Crown of Midnight and Throne of Glass. If you haven’t read either of these books then go do that, come back and we’ll chat!

page divider 1

So the first thing I want to say is I DO NOT SHIP CELAENA AND CHAOL. I don’t even think I have words for how much I hate these two together. It just made me so mad for so many different reasons, one of them being I’m still sailing on the Celaena and Dorian ship. I have to admit, I was pleased when Chaol was kidnapped by Archer and the rebels and we find out about the small, but important, part he played in Nehemia’s death. I just DO NOT LIKE CHAOL AT ALL EVER.

I feel like Celaena is super cold to Dorian in this book. I didn’t like the way their relationship ended in Throne of Glass and I didn’t like any of their interactions for most of this book. I feel like Celaena wasn’t at all nice to Dorian until the last 100 pages when she realised they might actually have something in common.  But I did like when they were down in the library catacombs with the monster and they sort of bonded, I think that was the overdue turning point of their friendship.

I also feel like Chaol was really disrespectful to Dorian. They’ve been best friends since they were kids and they spent nearly no time together in this book because Chaol was soooo busy with Celaena and it just made me so mad.

I think one of my favourite plot points of this novel was Dorian and his raw magic. It just opened so many opportunities for twists in the plot even though it did feel a little random.

I think we can all agree that the saddest part of this book is Nehemia’s death. Both times I read Crown of Midnight and both times it broke my heart and had me close to tears. I love Nehemia, she was one of my favourite characters and her dying just made me so so so sad.

For me one of the biggest plot twists was Archer and the hand he played in Nehemia’s death. I actually liked Archer for most of the book but I was SO mad when what he did was exposed.

CoM was full of so many plot twists like Celaena being Fae and Aelin Ashryver Galathynius, the heir to Terrasen. I liked the introduction of the witches and Wyrdgates. So many things that happened in this book, particularly in the second half, had me on the edge of my seat. I flew through the final 150 pages because it was so suspenseful. Even though this is my least favourite in the series, I still gave it 5/5 stars and I’m super excited to continue with Heir of Fire!

 

One thought on “REVIEW + DISCUSSION: Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

  1. I rated this so high for Dorian, because I remember thinking, Dorian deserves all the good things! I felt for him so bad in this book, because no one was throwing him a bone. And I agree – even after this book I didn’t like Chaol. At all. I just don’t. I feel a bit satisfied in Heir of Fire that my dislike was a bit justified, haha.

    The final parts of SJ Maas’ books are always so great, and they make up for the slower first half of the book for me. Great review! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

