Bookish

The Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

mid year book freak out tagI wasn’t tagged to do this but oh well because it’s fun and won’t be mid-year much longer!

page divider 1
Best Book You’ve Read So Far this Year

26642116

Oh gosh, this is hard because I’ve read and loved so many books this year. But I think it would be Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo! Everybody loves this book so I was a little hesitant but omg it not only lived up to the hype, it exceeded it!

SIX OF CROWS


Best Sequel You’ve Read So Far in 2016

a court of mist and fury

Obviously, this has to be A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas! I LOVE THIS BOOK. It was so so so much better than A Court of Thorns and Roses and just way better than I was expecting.

A COURT OF MIST AND FURY


New Release You Haven’t Read Yet But Want To

the hidden oracle

I’ve been wanting to get The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan since I read Percy Jackson but I just haven’t had a chance yet, though I am so excited for it and will definitely be picking it up soon.

THE HIDDEN ORACLE


Most Anticipated Releases For 2016 Part 2

There are so many great books coming out in the rest of the year but my absolute top two are Empire of Storms and Crooked Kingdom!

EMPIRE OF STORMS | CROOKED KINGDOM


Biggest Disappointment

the crown

I think the biggest disappointing read for 2016 for me is The Crown by Kiera Cass. I did enjoy it but I thought it was really rushed and anticlimactic. I was expecting a bit more.

THE CROWN


 

Biggest Surprise

17399160

Snow Like Ashes! I put this off for ages because I was worried it was going to be high fantasy but when I picked it up I was so surprised to see it had so much romance! The world wasn’t overly complicated but was still interesting and I enjoyed it so much more than I thought I would!

SNOW LIKE ASHES


Favourite New Author

I think I’m going to pick Kasie West. I was honestly so surprised by the Pivot Point duology and how much I loved it! It was 10x better than I was expecting and I’m really excited to pick up her other novels.


Favourite New Crush

I’m going to cheat and pick two for this: Rhysand from A Court of Mist and Fury and Kaz Brekker from Six of Crows. I love these two beautiful specimens so so so much and I can’t wait to see more of them in their respective sequels!

A COURT OF MIST AND FURY | SIX OF CROWS


Favourite New Characters

 

harry potter and the philosopher's stone

I am going with ALL the characters from Harry Potter. I LOVE THIS SERIES, it’s my new all time favourite and I absolutely adore all the characters in it, especially Neville, Hermione, Lupin, Sirius and, of course, the trio!

HARRY POTTER


Book that Made You Cry

forbidden

Forbidden by Tabitha Sazuma BROKE MY HEART and had me bawling my eyes out. I had to put the book down for a little bit so I could get all my feelings under control.

FORBIDDEN


Most Beautiful Book You’ve Bought So Far this Year

I think Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton and The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater both have absolutely stunning covers and I like to stare at them a lot.

REBEL OF THE SANDS | THE RAVEN KING


What Books do You Need to Read Before the End of the Year?

I have so so so many books I need and want to pick up before the end of the year. But my top 3 must reads are The Diviners by Libba Bray, Red Rising by Pierce Brown and Hollow City by Ransom Riggs. I’ve been putting all these books off for a pretty long time but I want to get to them before the year is up!

THE DIVINERS | RED RISING | HOLLOW CITY


If you’ve done this tag, be sure to link it in the comments below! What have been your favourite books so far this year and what are you hoping to get to before the year is up?

4 thoughts on “The Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

  1. Great list! I absolutely adore Six of Crows, and I cannot wait for the sequel. I am almost finished with ACOTAR, and I can say that I absolutely adore it! But everyone keeps telling me that the sequel is much better, and I just don’t understand how it can get even better!?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Six of Crows was incredible! It deserves all the hype surrounding it. Ooh, and The Raven King really is so pretty. I have mixed feelings about Kiera Cass’ books about Eadlyn, but in the end, I liked them. It’s too bad you didn’t 😦 but I can understand why. She’s a hard character to enjoy.

    – Eli @ The Silver Words
    #commenting365

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

