Reviews

REVIEW: Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

prisoner of azkabanTitle: Prisoner of Azkaban (Harry Potter #3)
Author: J.K. Rowling
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Middle Grade
Pages: 462
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Synopsis:Harry Potter is lucky to reach the age 
of thirteen, since he has 
survived the murderous attacks of the feared 
Dark Lord on more than one 
occasion. His hopes for a quiet school term 
concentrating on Quidditch are
dashed, though, when a maniacal mass-murderer 
escapes from Azkaban, 
pursued by the soul-sucking Dementors who guard 
the prison. It’s assumed 
that Hogwarts is the safest place for Harry to be. But is it his 
imagination that is making him feel eyes watching him in the dark, and 
should he be taking Professor Trelawney’s ghoulish predictions seriously?

Review: I really enjoyed this! It was a huge improvement over the first two books, mostly since a lot of the background information was out of the way.

The story really picked up in this one. It moved along at a faster pace and it felt like a lot more was starting to happen. So many of the characters became more likeable and so many new and amazing characters were introduced.

I really liked The Trio in this one. I am honestly not a huge fan of Ron and sometimes Harry bugged me, but I loved Hermione. She’s really just so great and a really unique character. I think the three of them really started to go through a lot of growth and come into their own at Hogwarts.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

In this book new characters were introduced and I LOVED THEM. Remus Lupin and Sirius Black are honestly so cool and entertaining and just such great additions to the story. I think Lupin was my favourite teacher in this book (and that’s saying something because I love A LOT of the teachers). He just seemed so cool and I would definitely want to be taking Defense Against the Dark Arts if he was teaching. Sirius was definitely a cool and quirky character and I’m so glad Harry has him in his life. I also really enjoyed the background of Remus and Sirius and finally understanding what it’s all about, which brings me to…

The Marauders! For so long I have seen stuff on Tumblr about them and I had no idea what it was but now I do! Now I know who they are! I really loved the bits of background information on them. I think it’s really cool that Harry got two new people into his life that were best friends with his dad. I really loved the Marauders map and I’m so glad I finally know what I solemnly swear I am up to no good and mischief managed mean! I would seriously read a novella JUST about the Marauders and their adventures at Hogwarts.

Some of my other favourite parts were:

  • Gryffindor winning the Quidditch cup!
  • Hermione and the Time Turner
  • Hagrid. Just Hagrid because Hagrid is great.
  • Buckbeak! I WANT A PET HIPPOGRIFF.
  • Harry’s Patronus! The story about it being a stag made me SO EMOTIONAL.

I just absolutely loved this book, I couldn’t put it down! It sucked me in from the get go. It was fast paced and entertaining. The writing isn’t anything super fantastic but it all flowed so well and I LOVE THIS WORLD. I WANT TO BE A WIZARD AND I WANT TO GO TO HOGWARTS. It’s just all so magical (ha!) and I adore it!

my rating

★★★★★

 

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling

Leave a Reply

