Reviews

REVIEW: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling

goblet of fire review

harry potter and the goblet of fireTitle: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire 
(Harry Potter #4)
Author: J.K. Rowling
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Middle Grade
Pages: 628
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Synopsis: When the Quidditch World Cup is 
disrupted by Voldemort’s rampaging supporters and
the terrifying Dark Mark appears against the night 
sky, it is obvious to Harry Potter that, far 
from weakening, Voldemort is getting stronger. Back 
at Hogwarts for the fourth year Harry is astonished 
to be chosen to represent the school in the 
Triwizard Tournament. The competition is dangerous, the tasks terrifying, 
and true courage is no guarantee of survival – especially with the Dark 
Lord’s forces on the rise…

Review: This is my favourite so far, I loved it so much! There were so many twists and turns, so much character growth and huge arcs. The plot in this book was so much better than those of the previous books. It was so in depth, well developed and just plain fantastic.

To be honest, Harry and Ron bugged me during so much of this book. I feel like they were really rude to a lot of people, especially their dates to the Yule Ball and also with each other. BUT they eventually became more likeable. I do have to admit that Ron is easily my least favourite of the trio and of a lot of the other Hogwarts students. But I do love Harry, even though he gets on my nerves a lot.

I really liked Hermione in this one. She kind of annoyed me in the first three books but I loved her in this. She’s just so fierce and smart and I would really like to be friends with her. It’s so obvious how much she cares for Ron and Harry and it made me so sad to see how Ron reacted to her and her Yule Ball date… So that’s just another reason for me to not like Ron.

I’ve said this before and I’ll say it again: I. Love. This. World. I want to go to Hogwarts. I want to be a wizard. I want to be friends with Harry, Ron and Hermione. PLEASE.

_DSC0010 (1)

I liked the writing and the pacing, I thought it was really great. I love love loved Sirius, Dumbledore and Hagrid. And I have to admit that Snape is my favourite character in this whole series. I absolutely love him, he’s just so sassy and dark and it makes my heart happy.

I really liked the Triwizard Tournament and all of the tasks and characters from Durmstrang and Beauxbatons. They were such interesting additions and it was part of what made the plot so good for me. Even though it ended up breaking my heart.

This book completely sucked me in. Once I hit the halfway point, I couldn’t put it down. I will admit I got a little teary at the end, it was just so emotional! This was just so much better than I expected and I cannot wait to continue the series!

my rating

★★★★★

5 thoughts on “REVIEW: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling

Leave a Reply

