Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Books Set in Summer

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme/feature created by The Broke and The Bookish. More information and bookish goodness can be found here!

page divider 1

This week’s TTT post topic was Books Set in X (the beach, England, boarding schools, etc.) I spent ages trying to pick a setting and finally decided on books set in summer. Now I know summer isn’t technically a setting, but let’s just look over that little nugget for now. We’re getting closer and closer to spring here in Australia and the sun’s been out which means I’ve been gearing up for some contemporaries, hence why I chose summer for my post. So let’s get into it!


 

how to be bad10 // How to Be Bad by E. Lockhart, Lauren Myacle and Sarah Mlynowski
I just finished this one so I had to put it on my list. Now I didn’t especially love this but it featured a road trip and a pretty kick ass trio of girls in Florida and it just gave me SO MANY summer vibes.

9 // The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen (or any Dessen novel, really)
I honestly love Sarah Dessen, her books are so honest and poignant and a lot of them (or at least the ones I’ve read) are set in summer and also take place in Colby, a small beachside town. I love TTAF because it’s sweet and hard hitting and it’s stuck with me even though it’s been years since I read it.

8 // This is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smiththis is what happy looks like
All of Jennifer E. Smith’s books are ADORABLE but I think this is one of my favourites by her. It’s light, summery and has a super cute romance even if it is a little cliche.

7 // The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han
Of course some Jenny Han had to be on here, it wouldn’t be a list about summer books otherwise. I love The Summer I Turned Pretty trilogy. It’s so cute and it gave me SO MANY GOOD FEELINGS. I loved it.

summer days and summer nights6 // Summer Days and Summer Nights edited by Stephanie Perkins
I didn’t enjoy this as much as the winter version but it was still so insanely cute and I definitely recommend it. And who doesn’t enjoy an anthology by 12 awesome YA authors all set in summer?

5 // Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson
This list would not be complete without mention the queen herself! I loved this book. It had me crying ugly tears and it was so happy and sad and so so so good and you should read it!

4 // 99 Days by Katie Cotugno99 days
I didn’t love this book and I definitely didn’t hate it. My feelings are decidedly mixed. But I read it while I was on holiday and it was perfect to read while sitting out in the sun in spring because it gave me happy vibes. Though I don’t think I would re-read it, it’s definitely a quick and fun book.

3 //Β The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi
This book is just so much fun, I had fun while I was reading it, it made me want to go out and have fun. It made me want to go out and SAY YES to things because so I often I say no. If you’re looking for a fun, quick read then you should definitely check this one out.

the unexpected everything2 // The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson
Look it’s Morgan Matson again! Are you surprised? Probably not. I loved this book. It features dogs and ice cream and a scavenger hunt and a cute fantasy author named Clarke and please please please read it!

1 // More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera
I don’t think I talk about this book on here enough. This book tore my heart to pieces and I loved every second of it. It deals with so many important topics (mental health, sexuality, race) and I think it’s something everyone should read. It’s a bit of a darker summer book but so so so important.


There you have it, 10 books set in summer! What are some books you love that are set in summer? Let me know in the comments and don’t forget to link your TTT post below so I can check it out!

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books Set in Summer

  1. Hi! Aww I want to read all these books right now. The sun is shining and these would be the perfect companions! I have The Unexpected Everything but haven’t read it yet. I’ve only seen good things though so I’m excited.

    What’s you’re favourite Sarah Dessen book? Or do you have one that you could recommend? I’ve seen her books everywhere but I don’t know where to start!

    Happy Reading
    Rachel @ Paein-and-Ms4Tune

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

