Reviews

REVIEW: Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J.K. Rowling

harry potter and the half blood prince.jpgTitle: Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince 
(Harry Potter #6)
Author: J.K. Rowling 
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult
Pages: 652
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Synopsis: It is the middle of the summer, but there 
is an unseasonal mist pressing against the 
windowpanes. Harry Potter is waiting nervously in 
his bedroom at the Dursleys' house in Privet Drive 
for a visit from Professor Dumbledore himself. 
One of the last times he saw the Headmaster was in a fierce 
one-to-one duel with Lord Voldemort, and Harry can't 
quite believe that Professor Dumbledore will actually appear at the 
Dursleys' of all places. Why is the Professor coming to visit him now? 
What is it that cannot wait until Harry returns to Hogwarts in a few 
weeks' time? Harry's sixth year at Hogwarts has already got off to an 
unusual start, as the worlds of Muggle and magic start to intertwine...

This book has broken my heart. I already knew what to expect since I saw the move when it was released. But I didn’t have any emotional connection to the characters then as I do now.

I think this is my second favourite book in the series. Though it definitely is the saddest, I also think it is definitely the most well written, paced and it has the best character arcs.

I have to admit that Harry’s obsession with Draco did annoy me. Like, he had been told multiple times to just leave it by many people but he just WOULDN’T LISTEN. I think Harry’s fatal flaw might be that he wants to be the hero all the time, he’ll do anything for justice. But I still love Harry so much more in this book than I did in the others. He became a lot more likeable and he went through a lof growth.

Ron also became more likeable, albeit slowly. But it bugged me how blind he was to Hermione’s feelings. I think Hermione went through a lot of change too and I liked her even more in this one than I did before.

This book was impossible to put down and I flew it through which was a nice change of pace after Order of the Phoenix and it was a huge improvement after the previous book. I wish I could this book 10000 stars but alas, 5 stars is the limit so…

my rating

★★★★★

One thought on “REVIEW: Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J.K. Rowling

Leave a Reply

