Hauls TBR Wrap Ups

August 2016 Wrap Up!

august 16 wrap upAugust was an insanely good reading month for me. I somehow managed to read 23 books. 23! I’m pretty proud of myself, especially since my haul was so small. As this is no doubt going to be a long post, go grab some popcorn and juice and we’ll get into it!


read this month

  • Requiem by Lauren Oliver – ★★★★☆
    I really wasn’t expecting to enjoy this trilogy as much as I did. A lot of people told me they weren’t huge fans so I was pretty hesitant, but I was pleasantly surprised. I have to admit one of my biggest problems with this book was my ship sank. It also wasn’t a fantastic conclusion, but I liked it.
  • My True Love Gave to Me edited by Stephanie Perkins – ★★★★★
    This was so cute and made me excited for Christmas! This was a great way of trying out a new author without committing to a full length novel and I loved it. My favourite stories include: Midnights by Rainbow Rowell, It’s A Yuletide Miracle, Charlie Brown by Stephanie Perkins, What the Hell Have You Done, Sophie Roth? by Gayle Forman and Welcome to Christmas, CA by Kiersten White.
  • Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne & John Tiffany – ★★★☆☆
    Oh gosh, I have such mixed feelings about this. I thought it was pretty disappointing and I had SO MANY PROBLEMS with it. It’s been nearly a month since I read this and I’m still trying to write my review for it. I will say I enjoyed getting this look into these characters lives after Deathly Hallows. Though I definitely didn’t have high expectations, I was still expecting it to be a bit better.
  • Thicker Than Water by Brigid Kemmerer – ★★★☆☆
    I really enjoyed the first half of this novel but when the paranormalcy came into play I wasn’t feeling it anymore. I’m not a huge paranormal fan and I think this book definitely didn’t need it, I would have liked it so much more.
  • Am I Normal Yet? by Holly Bourne – ★★★★☆
    I really liked this! It was such an honest look at mental health and what it means to be a teenager dealing with it. I wasn’t a huge fan of all of the characters which is why I only gave it 4 stars. But I still really enjoyed it!
  • How Hard Can Love Be? by Holly Bourne – ★★★★★
    I wasn’t expecting to like this as much as I did. I didn’t like Amber in Am I Normal Yet? she just really annoyed me. But she was a much more likeable character in this one. This book had a cute romance, an interesting family dynamic and a small road trip, and if you know me you know I love those things.
  • It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover – ★★★★★
    I LOVED THIS. From what I’ve seen on Goodreads, this book is a bit of a hit or miss but for me it was a hit. It deals with such an important topic, domestic violence, and it’s dealt with SO WELL. This book was so raw and powerful and emotional. It was great.
  • Summer Days and Summer Night edited by Stephanie Perkins – ★★★★☆
    I have to admit that I didn’t enjoy this as much as its winter counterpart. I think this was because it had a lot more authors I’d never read before. My favourite stories were: In Ninety Minutes, Turn North by Stephanie Perkins, Brad New Attraction by Cassandra Clare, Inertia by Veronica Roth and A Million Ways this Could All Go Wrong by Jennifer E. Smith.
  • Firstlife by Gena Showalter – ★★★☆☆
    If I had to describe this book in one word it would: underwhelming. It was slow and boring at times. I didn’t like a lot of the characters. BUT the premise was really interesting and it had some really great fight scenes. I liked this book and I’m looking forward to its sequel.
  • Down With the Shine by Kate Karyus Quinn – ★★★★☆
    From what I’ve seen on Goodreads, a lot of people didn’t like this book but I really enjoyed it!  It was kooky and strange but it was such a fun time! It definitely wasn’t great but I enjoyed it a lot more than I expected to.

In August I decided to participate in Epic Reads Reading Decathlon, where the goal was to read 10 books in 10 days. By some miracle I managed to read 10 full length novels and get the gold, and I’ve gotta admit I’m pretty chuffed!

  • Infinite Sky by C.J. Flood – ★★★☆☆
    I’d been putting this off since November and it was good, I liked it. But I wasn’t really sure what the plot was. It was a little boring but I liked the focus on family and friendship. I will admit to crying a little bit at a certain scene because IT WAS SO EMOTIONAL but I didn’t really love this book.
  • How to Be Bad by E. Lockhart, Lauren Myracle and Sarah Mlynowski – ★★★☆☆
    I’d been putting this off for about a year, just letting it sit on my shelves because I have mixed feelings about E. Lockhart but I actually enjoyed this. It features three strong female characters, a roadtrip and Disney World. Friendship was the overall theme of this book and I loved that. It was a little slow sometimes but I really liked the characters.
  • Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira – ★★☆☆☆
    This was disappointing. I think for me it was too similar to The Perks of Being a Wallflower which is one of my all time favourites. I wasn’t sure what this books plot was and I wasn’t a huge fan of a lot of the characters. It just wasn’t enjoyable for me.
  • The Flywheel by Erin Gough – ★★★★☆
    I was not expecting to enjoy this as much as I did but I actually really enjoyed it! This is an Australian YA featuring a lesbian protagonist and I was surprised by how well it was written. This book featured some really great characters and a fun plot. I really enjoyed my time reading this.
  • The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton – ★★★★★
    My mum had been nagging to me read this for so long and I finally did it and omg I LOVED IT. This book made me so so so emotional. It was so touching and I loved all of the characters (ahem JOHNNY!) and their relationship. It was so different to anything I’ve read before and I definitely didn’t expect to like it because it’s a classic. If you haven’t read it then you really need to.
  • The Winner’s Crime by Marie Rutkoski – ★★★★☆
    I decided to pick this up since I had started and put it down a couple months ago. It was a little slow but I really liked it once it picked up. As far as sequels go, this was pretty good.
  • Soundless by Richelle Mead – ★★☆☆☆
    I really wasn’t a fan of this book. It was boring and slow and it just dragged on and on and on. I enjoyed the Chinese folklore aspect and I liked the premise, I just don’t think it was executed very well.
  • The Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie West – ★★★★★
    I LOVED THIS. This book was so flippin adorable and cute and I didn’t want to put it down. It is honestly one of my favourite books of 2016. I loved the main character and the development she went through. I loved the love interest. I loved the plot. It was just such a good contemporary and ugh just great.
  • These Vicious Masks by Tarun Shanker & Kelly Zekas – ★★★★☆
    This is another book I wasn’t expecting to enjoy but I really did! The plot was well thought out, the characters were so witty and fun and I loved the historical fiction aspect. Though it wasn’t anything super fantastic, it was really enjoyable and I’m looking forward to the sequel.
  • Rule by Jay Crownover – ★★☆☆☆
    The only reason I gave this 2 stars was because it was SO ADDICTIVE. I seriously couldn’t put this book down. But I really hated the characters and the plot and the writing and just pretty much everything about it. It was kind of fun sometimes but it was definitely not enjoyable.

I didn’t get to many more books after the decathlon, but here they are!

  • The Winner’s Kiss by Marie Rutkoski – ★★★★☆
    Obviously I had to finish the trilogy so I picked this up. It was a pretty good conclusion, I liked how it all wrapped up but once again it was SO SLOW.
  • P.S. I Like You by Kasie West – ★★★★☆
    Kasie West is probably one of my new favourite contemporary authors. I didn’t enjoy this as much as The Fill-In Boyfriend but it was still SO CUTE. This was super quick and sweet and I really liked how it featured music and letters, it was just so great.
  • Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas – ★★★★★
    This was a re-read and I have to admit that is probably my favourite in the series so far. I love Celaena in this novel because she’s kind of even more badass. But HoF introduces Rowan who is my bae. I love him so much, I ship him and Celaena SO MUCH.

IMG_3184

I didn’t really have any highlights or favourites in August. I was listening to the same music I had been the last couple months and I was really just devoted to knocking some books off my TBR. How many books did you read in August? Let me know in the comments and which were your favourites!

One thought on “August 2016 Wrap Up!

Leave a Reply

