Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Favourite Contemporary Books

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme/feature created by The Broke and The Bookish. More information and bookish goodness can be found here!page divider 1

For this week’s Top Ten Tuesday post, I thought I would talk about my top ten all time favourite contemporaries… At least the ones that are currently my favourites. So let’s get into it!


10 // I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson
I absolutely adore Jandy Nelson’s writing and this book just made so happy! I love Jude and Noah and their story and you should definitely read this book if you haven’t.

253278189 // Night Owls by Jenn Bennett
I seriously loved this book so much. I love the characters and the plot and just everything about it. Plus, the cover is super pretty.

8 // Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
Of course this has to be on my list because just about everybody loves Fangirl and Rainbow Rowell. I really identified with Cath which is why I love it so much. But it’s honestly just so so so great.

7 // The Serpent King by Jeff Zentnerthe-serpent-king
This book gave me so many feelings, it was so poignant. I loved the characters (especially Travis). I love the message and theme and everybody should read it.

6 // The Wrong Side of Right by Jenn Marie Thorne
One of my favourite things about this book is its focus on family and that family dynamic. It makes so happy when a book focuses on family and this one definitely delivered. Plus, I loved the characters and the writing and the little bits of romance.

more-happy-than-not5 // More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera
This book gave me so many emotions. It was so diverse and powerful and poignant and I loved every second of it.

4 // Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson
I love all of Matson’s books but this is the one that made me cry so it’s my favourite. I just got SO EMOTIONAL while reading this and I just loved everything about it. I loved the focus on family and friendship and the romance… It was all great.

3 // Made You Up by Francesca Zappiamade you up
This is the only book I’ve read with a main character struggling with schizophrenia and i loved it. It was just so real and sweet and well written. This is a book I will always recommend to everyone.

2 // The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
Once again, everyone loves this book so it should be no surprise that I love it A LOT. Charlie and his friends have such a special place in my heart. I love the movie adaptation almost as much as the book.

all the bright places1 // All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven
You all know how much I love this book. I thought this was such an accurate representation of mental illness and it was so well written. I love Finch and Violet so much; if you haven’t read this book yet then you seriously need to!

 

 

 


What are some of your favourite books? Let me know in the comments! And don’t forget to link your TTT post as well!

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Favourite Contemporary Books

  1. ALL THE BRIGHT PLACES, no doubt is my most favorite of all! πŸ™‚ I did love I’ll Give You the Sun as well. :)) I have Night Owls but I put it aside after 3 or 4 chapters cause it took me 3 weeks to get to those 4 chapters since purchase of the book. LOL. #adultlife #workinglife

    If you liked Night Owls, you might want to try Graffiti Moon by Cath Crowley. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve never even heard of Night Owls before, but it sounds really good. I also totally agree with you that the cover on that book is gorgeous. I can be such a sucker for pretty covers. I’m really sad though because I STILL haven’t read I’ll Give You the Sun. I almost bought it back when it was new, then didn’t, and it’s been in my Amazon saved for later since. *sigh* I will say that I wasn’t a huge fan of All the Bright Places though, which also makes me sad. I just had a really hard time with it. Anyways, this was a great post and I enjoyed reading it! My TTT is here: http://glitteringreads.com/2016/09/13/all-time-favorite-fantasy-books/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

