Reviews

REVIEW: Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

Title: Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass #4)
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance
Pages: 648
Publisher: Bloomsbury
79329_originalSynopsis: The queen has returned.
Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken 
from her. But she’s at last returned to the 
empire—for vengeance, to rescue her once-glorious 
kingdom, and to confront the shadows of her past…
She has embraced her identity as Aelin Galathynius, 
Queen of Terrasen. 
But before she can reclaim her throne, she must fight.
She will fight for her cousin, a warrior prepared to 
die for her. 
She will fight for her friend, a young man trapped 
in an unspeakable prison. And she will fight for 
her people, enslaved to a brutal king and awaiting their lost queen’s 
triumphant return.

 

I forgot how much I love this book. It’s been a year since it was released and I read it for the first time and I loved it even more this time around.

This book made me SO HAPPY. It gave me to so many feelings. This book is my favourite so far because there is so much character development all around. Every single character in this series grows in this book and I love it.

I love love love Aelin. She’s so fierce and loyal and strong and I really wish I could be friends with her. The change she has gone through in this series, going from Celaena to Aelin, is just so great and it makes me so happy. Of course I love Rowan, too. I love his relationship with Aelin and how protective they are of each other. He’s such a badass and I love that he lets Aelin be a badass. I JUST LOVE THEM.

I actually really liked Chaol in this book, YAY! I was not a fan of his throughout the first three books in the series but in this book he’s a not an insufferable ass and I love how different he is. Can we please just talk about the bromance between Chaol and Dorian please because OMG IT IS EVERYTHING. You all know how much I love Dorian and I think I love him most in QoS. Despite everything that has happened to him, he’s still so strong and not willing to give up.

There are some seriously fantastic side characters in this book: Aedion, Nesryn, Lysandra, Manon, Elide, Asterin. I adore them all. One of my favourite aspects of this novel are all of the friendships/relationships. Aedion and Aelin; Adeion and Rowan; Nesryn and Chaol; Lysandra and Aelin; Dorian and Aelin; Manon and Elide; Manon and Asterin; Chaol and Aelin; Rowan and Aelin. I JUST LOVE IT ALL SO MUCH.

I also really need to mention Abraxons because OMG I WANT ONE SO BAD. Please tell me I’m not the only person who pictures this when I think of Abraxos:

toothless

Literally so much went down in this novel and it was all so gripping and enthralling. It had some seriously epic fight scenes and I was so completely sucked in from page one.

I’ve said this in all my other reviews but I love this world Maas has created so much. I really wish I could be a part of it. I love the writing style and the pacing and just everything about this book because it got even better. This is one of those series that just keeps improving. I have previously said that Heir of Fire is my favourite, but so far Queen of Shadows takes the cake.

my rating

★★★★★

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

