Hauls TBR Wrap Ups

September Wrap Up!

Another month has come to an end and somehow I managed to read 16 books! Not gonna lie, September was kinda slumpy for me. I spent most of the first week waiting for my copy of Empire of Storms to arrive and grudgingly reading something else when it didn’t. Then of course I had a book hangover from Empire of Storms… But at the end of September I really got back in the swing of things and somehow ended up reading two books in one day WHAT?! But anyway, let’s get into the wrap up!

read this month

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

  1. Nerve by Jeanne Ryan – ★☆☆☆☆
    This book was just disappointing. I couldn’t stand any of the characters and the dumb decisions they made. The plot was kind of boring and I feel like this book was kind of a waste of time. I will say that I think this will translate much better into film and I’m looking forward to seeing the movie adaptation.
  2. Highly Illogical Behaviour by John Corey Whaley – ★★★★★
    OH MY GOSH I LOVED THIS. This was my first Whaley book and I was pretty excited for it. I didn’t expect it to be anywhere near as good as it was! I absolutely adored the characters (SOLOMAN I LOVE YOU) and the depiction of mental illness (anxiety + agoraphobia) was A+++++! I read this in one sitting because it was just impossible to put down. READ IT PEOPLE!
  3. Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas – ★★★★★
    This was a re-read for me and I have to say I definitely enjoyed it more the second time around. When I read it last year I flew through it and didn’t really take anything in. This time I paid so much more attention and woah it was amazing! This is definitely my favourite in the series.
  4. Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas – ★★★★★
    I wasn’t entirely sure about giving this a five star rating but the ending completely earned it! I thought this was a little slow to begin with and I wasn’t a huge fan of Celaena’s behaviour for a lot of it. I’m STILL trying to piece together my thoughts so I can get a review written… I did have some problems with this and it definitely is not my favourite but I still really loved it and THAT ENDING!
  5. What We Left Behind by Robin Talley – ★★☆☆☆
    This book was SUCH A PAIN and I hate that because I really wanted to like it. This is the first book I’ve read featuring a trans character and I was so excited for it but it just let me down. I hated BOTH the main characters in this book. They were so self-centred, they didn’t really care about each other and they should because they were in a relationship! Honestly, this book felt like one big info dump on trans terminology and it just wasn’t enjoyable.
  6. The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson – ★★★★★
    I finally read this and I LOVED IT! This has been on my TBR since December and oh my gosh it was so good! I love the writing and the plot and the characters and everything about this!
  7. The Heart of Betrayal by Mary E. Pearson – ★★★★★
    This was such a great sequel! The characters were still so amazing and it introduced MORE awesome characters. This is honestly one of my favourite sequels ever!
  8. The Beauty of Darkness by Mary E. Pearson – ★★★★★
    OMG THIS WAS SUCH A GREAT CONCLUSION! I absolutely hated saying goodbye to these characters but everything that happened in this book was just amazing! Also, please tell me I’m not the only one on team KADEN! I love him so so so much!
  9. What’s A Girl Gotta Do? by Holly Bourne – ★★★★☆
    For a lot of this book I had really mixed feelings. These characters didn’t quite feel the same as the ones I’d read about in the previous two books. They did eventually grow on me though. I really loved the message of this book and seeing Lotte’s life but it’s definitely not my favourite in the trilogy.
  10. The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh – ★★★★★
    I didn’t expect to love this as much as I did! This book was SO hyped when it was released in 2015 and I’m so glad I’ve finally read it. The writing style was so beautiful and I absolutely adore Shazi and Khalid (HE IS MY BAE). This book was definitely worth the wait.
  11. The Rose and the Dagger by Renee Ahdieh – ★★★★☆
    I didn’t enjoy this as much as TWATD but it was still really good! This book had me on the edge my seat (bed) so many times and I was pretty happy with the ending. I did feel like it was kind of rushed but I still really liked it.
  12. Suicide Notes from Beautiful Girls by Lynn Weingarten – ★☆☆☆☆
    I’m going to be completely honest: I hated this. This book was confusing and stupid and just a terrible reading experience. I couldn’t stand the characters and the decisions they were making, espeically June and her weird relationship with Delia. This book was just painful for me to read and it was TOO LONG! It dragged on and on and on and I can’t even talk about it anymore because it makes me so mad.
  13. Biggest Flirts by Jennifer Echols – ★★★★☆
    Oh man this was so adorable! I love Tia and Will and their relationship so much! Also, I’ve never read a book with a protagonist in their school’s marching band and it was awesome! This was so sweet and cute and sexy and I don’t know why I put it off for so long!
  14. My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick – ★★★★☆
    I was finally in the mood to read my contemporaries and this one was so good! I loved the focus on family and I loved Samantha and I LOVED Jase. It was so sweet and cute while also dealing with a kind of heavy topic. This book just made me SO HAPPY.
  15. Perfect Couple by Jennifer Echols – ★★★★☆
    I didn’t like this quite as much as Biggest Flirts but it was still so great! I loved Harper and Brody, they were so cute together. I loved seeing more of Tia and Will. This book was just such a good time!
  16. Most Likely to Succeed by Jennifer Echols – ★★★★★
    This was my favourite book in the Superlatives trilogy because SAWYER! I love him so much, he’s just such a great character. I also really loved Kaye which was surprising to me because I wasn’t a huge fan of her in the other books. Saying goodbye to these characters was actually really sad for me. But can I just say that I would love to see the guys perspectives of these stories, please! That would be so great.

favourites

I didn’t have many favourites this month but there is a song I was playing on repeat. In October I’m going to a Mayday Parade concert so I’ve been listening to their music a lot and I’ve become obsessed with Save Your Heart. The lyrics are just so powerful to me and I love them.

screen-shot-2016-10-01-at-12-04-34-pm

“Save your heart for someone that’s worth dying for, don’t give it away… Save your heart for someone who leaves you breathless.”


How many books did you read in September? What were some highlights and favourites? Let me know in the comments!

7 thoughts on “September Wrap Up!

  1. You read so many books! I barely managed four 🙈. September was a crazy busy month for me school wise though haha. It’s great that you ended up having a pretty good reading month after a slumpy start. Hopefully October is even better. Great wrap up! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

