Bookish

REVIEW: The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton

the outsidersTitle: The Outsiders
Author: S.E. Hinton
Genres: Young Adult, Fiction, Classics
Pages: 198
Publisher: Speak
Synopsis: No one ever said life was easy. But Ponyboy 
is pretty sure that he's got things figured out. He 
knows that he can count on his brothers, Darry and 
Sodapop. And he knows that he can count on his friends
 - true friends who would do anything for him, like 
Johnny and Two-Bit. And when it comes to the beating 
up on "greasers" like him and his friends - he knows that he can count on 
them for trouble. But one night someone takes things too far, and 
Ponyboy's world is turned upside down...

I had only really heard of this in passing until my mum bought it and told me I had to read it. I wasn’t really interested in it and I put it off for a while. But I finally decided to pick it up and I am so glad because I loved it.

This was so different to anything I’ve read before. The whole story was so unique and endearing from the get-go. It was an interesting thing for me to read because it’s set in such a different time and society was so different, even though it wasn’t all that long ago.

I absolutely adored pretty much every single character in this book. They were all so loveable, but I have to give a special mention to Johnny. He was my absolute favourite and I loved him right from the beginning. He was so innocent and soft despite what he went through at home. I loved how the gang loved him and looked out for him, it just made my heart so happy. My other favourite was Soda. He was sweet and goofy and I loved his relationship with Pony and Darry. But I really loved every single one of these characters, it would be nearly impossible to dislike them.

I liked the writing style and how it was all sort of explained at the end. I enjoyed the pacing and the world. I could see their town so clearly and I could picture the Socs and how they were different to the greasers and it made for such an excellent reading experience.

This is a short book so it only took me a couple hours to read, but it packs a huge emotional punch in such a short amount of pages. I will admit that I cried twice and get extremely teary at the end. The Outsiders was so inspiring, it made me want to surround myself with people who care and give myself a good life.

If you haven’t read this book, then you should definitely get on that. It’s wonderful and heartbreaking and I swear you won’t regret it.

my rating

★★★★★

3 thoughts on “REVIEW: The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton

Leave a Reply

