Reviews

REVIEW: The Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie West

the-fill-in-boyfriend
Title: The Fill-In Boyfriend 
Author: Kasie West
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Realistic Fiction
Pages: 343
Publisher: HarperTeen
Synopsis:When Gia Montgomery's boyfriend, Bradley, dumps her in the 
parking lot of her high school prom, she has to think fast. After all, 
she'd been telling her friends about him for months now. This was supposed
to be the night she proved he existed. So when she sees a cute guy 
waiting to pick up his sister, she enlists his help. The task is simple: 
be her fill-in boyfriend—two hours, zero commitment, a few white lies. 
After that, she can win back the real Bradley.
The problem is that days after prom, it's not the real Bradley she's 
thinking about, but the stand-in. The one whose name she doesn't even 
know. But tracking him down doesn't mean they're done faking a 
relationship. Gia owes him a favor and his sister intends to see that he 
collects: his ex-girlfriend's graduation party—three hours, zero 
commitment, a few white lies.
Just when Gia begins to wonder if she could turn her fake boyfriend into
a real one, Bradley comes waltzing back into her life, exposing her lie, 
and threatening to destroy her friendships and her new-found relationship.

Review: I loved the novels by Kasie West I had already read but this was the first of her contemporary books I picked up and I had heard so many good things about them. Since contemporaries are my favourites, I wanted to love this and I was told so so so many good things. And I LOVED IT.

This book was so insanely adorable and cute. It was short and sweet and a super quick read, I flew through it in a day.

I loved Gia so so so much. There were a couple of times when I wasn’t sure if I liked her but I really did. I thought she was pretty relatable and likeable. She was well developed but there was still a lot of her room for her to grow, which she did and I loved seeing it. I loved the change in her and how by the end she was even more likable.

I also really loved Hayden! He was so sweet and kind and I would really like one in my life. There was a lot of depth to him, which I really liked. He wasn’t just a boring love interest with all the cliché hobbies. I hated seeing him with his ex-girlfriend because he obviously deserved better and I was shipping him and Gia SO HARD.

My other favourite character was Bec. I mean, who wouldn’t love Bec? She was so funny and I loved watching her relationship with Hayden and also with Gia. Seeing how she acted made me really want to be her friend.

DSC_0059.jpg

I honestly didn’t like Gia’s friends or family through this whole book. I feel like her friends definitely could have done a better job being there for Gia and not just Jules. It just made me so mad to see them putting this new friends over someone they had been friends with for years, especially when Jules dislike for Gia was SO obvious. I feel like Gia’s family was really the same. They were really pre-occupied with themselves and not each other. I just really wanted to see Gia’s parents reach out to her and offer to just have a conversation. I mean PLEASE.

Besides the characters I didn’t like, I loved everything else. I loved all the side characters and the pacing was A+. I could picture the high school and the beachy town so well and I really just wanted to be there with them all.

If you haven’t read anything by Kasie West, you seriously need to; and you definitely need to pick this one up! It’s so fun and fast paced and the characters will give you ALL THE FEELS.

my rating

 ★★★★★

One thought on “REVIEW: The Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie West

Leave a Reply

