Reviews

REVIEW: Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

geminaTitle: Gemina (Illuminae Files #2)
Author: Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff
Genres: Young Adult, Science Fiction
Pages: 659
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Synopsis:The saga that began with breakout 
bestseller Illuminae continues aboard Jump Station 
Heimdall, where two new characters will confront 
the next wave of BeiTech’s assault. Hanna is the 
station commander's pampered daughter, Nik the 
reluctant member of a notorious crime family. But 
while the pair are struggling with the realities 
of life aboard the galaxy’s most boring space 
station, little do they know that Kady Grant and the Hypatia are headed 
right toward Heimdall, carrying news of the Kerenza invasion.
When an elite BeiTech strike team invades the station, Hanna and Nik are 
thrown together to defend their home. But alien predators are picking off 
the station crew one by one, and a malfunction in the station’s wormhole 
means the space-time continuum might be ripped in two before dinner. 
Soon, Hanna and Nik aren’t just fighting for their own survival; the 
fate of everyone on the Hypatia—and possibly the known universe—is in 
their hands.
But relax. They’ve totally got this. They hope.

Review: Amie and Jay have done it again, holy moly. Gemina was one crazy emotional rollercoaster and I need the next book RIGHT NOW. Gemina is the sequel to Illuminae, which I read and reviewed earlier this year. The only word to describe Illuminae is fantastic so I was kind of worried that Gemina would not live up to it but oh boy did it!

This book kicked off with a bang and I was hooked straight away. I know a lot of people find the formatting strang and a little daunting, but it makes it such a quick and fun reading experience. Illuminae and Gemina are told in case files, emails, video surveillance transcriptions, IM’s and so much more. Gemina features journal illustrations from Marie Lu and that was such a cool format.

This book featured some serious kick ass characters. We follow Hanna and Nik on jump station Heimdall and I’ve gotta say, I LOVED THEM. Hanna is a total badass and I want to be her best friend. Nik comes from a family of criminals but he’s such a softy. I loved their banter and their relationship. It was just so much fun to read and follow them on their exhilarating journey.

“You might only get one shot. So shoot.”

The illustrations and images paired with the unique format of this book paints such a vivid picture. The whole time I read this I felt like I was on Heimdall,  I could picture everything going on.

I love love love that Kady, Ezra, AIDAN and some other Illuminae characters make an appearance in this. I was hoping they would and it just made me so happy to see them again. I really hope we see them in the next book

I absolutely love the world of the Illuminae Files and I have no idea how I’m going to wait a year for the next book. I went to the book launch for Gemina in Melbourne and Amie and Jay are so lovely and I am so excited what they have in store for us and how they’re going to break our hearts in the next book.

my rating

★★★★★

One thought on “REVIEW: Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Leave a Reply

