Reviews

REVIEW: The Sun is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon

the-sun-is-also-a-starTitle: The Sun is Also A Star
Author: Nicola Yoon
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, 
Realistic Fiction
Pages: 384
Publisher: Corgi Childrens
Synopsis:Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in 
science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. 
Or dreams that will never come true. I’m 
definitely not the kind of girl who meets a 
cute boy on a crowded New York City street and 
falls in love with him. Not when my family is 
twelve hours away from being deported to 
Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.
Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up
to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. 
But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha 
makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in 
store—for both of us.
The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single 
moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

Review: Oh my, I have so many emotions right now. When I picked this up I was expecting something cute like Everything, Everything but this book is so much more. This book features two protagonists who are people of colour. I don’t think I’ve ever read a book with two POC main characters and I LOVED IT. Natasha and Daniel have a whirlwind romance in NYC that is beautiful and heartbreaking. Their story made me feel so many things. It made me happy and sad and frustrated and joyful.

One of my favourite things about this book is that it is told in multiple points of view, and not just those of Natasha and Daniel. We get backstories to the people they meet during their day in the city and also into their family. Seeing these bits and pieces of lives and how these two characters affected them was such a great addition and made me love this book even more.

I loved loved loved the diversity in this book. It’s not something I see very often and I know I definitely want more of it. I loved that Natasha was so obsessed with science and facts. I loved that Daniel was a hopeless romantic and a poet. I loved how they were together and I loved seeing how they developed throughout the story.

I really enjoyed seeing their family dynamics. Both of these characters are going through some things with their families and I liked seeing how they each stood up for themselves.

The writing in this book was so so so good. It was so fast paced and I just could not bear to put it down. I was completely sucked in and immersed in the storyline. I could picture New York City and Koreatown and Brooklyn. It all felt so vivid.

I really cannot fault this novel. It’s got diverse characters, a focus of family relationships and a whirlwind romance. It really is everything I love in a contemporary. If you’ve not picked up The Sun is Also A Star or Everything, Everything than YOU NEED TO. They both really are so phenomenal and I cannot recommend them enough.

my rating

★★★★★

 

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: The Sun is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon

  1. Great review! I’m not entirely sure if I want to read this book because the whole one-day-think kind of throws me off. It just seems very insta-love, and I haven’t even read it. Also, the idea of all sorts of POVs also kind of throws me off. But then again, I really want to read this because it’s a diverse read and has to do with the topic of immigration in the U.S.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

