Bookish

My Favourite Series Read in 2016

We’re nearing the end of 2016 and I have read SO MANY good series this year I thought I’d dedicate a post to them! I’m sure some of these might be included in my overall 2016 favourites but in case they’re not they deserve a post of their own! I’ve managed to narrow this list down to six and definitely keep in mind that this isn’t really in any kind of order.


173991606 // Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch
I loved loved loved Snow Like Ashes. I will say its sequel, Ice Like Fire, was a miss for me but Sara Raasch brought back the amazingness in Frost Like Night which is why it’s on this list. I loved this books magic and the characters. The world in this book was so well built and thought out and I loved seeing that. Thought I didn’t love the whole series, I really enjoyed it and that’s why it’s on this list.

 

lux5 // LUX by Jennifer L. Armentrout
I was really hesitant to pick this up because I knew it was about aliens and I’ve just never really been interested in that sort of thing. But when I received the whole series from a lovely friend of mine I knew I had to give it a go. And OMG I LOVED IT SO MUCH! The books in this series are all so fast paced and the characters are WONDERFUL (ahem, Daemon Black *heart eyes*). Reading the LUX series was just such a fun time and I honestly could not put any of the books down.

 

cinder4 // The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer
I picked this one up because of all of the hype around Winter and Cinder was actually the first book I read this year. I loved this series so much! It’s so diverse and unique and fast paced. I love all the characters SO MUCH and the writing and the world and just everything about it. It really does deserve all the hype because it is AMAZING. I mean, who doesn’t love sci-fi fairytale retellings?

 

 

percy-jackson-13 // Percy Jackson by Rick Riordan
Another series I can’t believe I took so long to read! My brother read the Percy Jackson series years ago and he really enjoyed it but I was never interested. I can honestly say that now I am so glad I picked it up! I love every single Rick Riordan book I’ve read, they’re all just so funny and fast paced and the characters are always so great. I have a very special place in my heart for Percy and I’m always going to love this series.

 

the-kiss-of-deception2 // The Remnant Chronicles by Mary E. Pearson
This trilogy is so underhyped! I love the characters and the writing and the world and just everything about this series! I think it’s one that isn’t really talked about much and it should be because IT IS AMAZING. If you haven’t read it yet, then PLEASE GO READ IT!

 

 

 

harry-potter-and-the-philosophers-stone1 // Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling
Of course this has to come in at number one! I’m honestly not sure why I waited this long to read this series but I am so so so glad I finally did. For me, it really did live up to the hype and I think it’s always going to be one of my all time favourites.

 

 

 


There you have it, my top six series I read in 2016! Have you read any of these? What are some of your favoourite series that you read this year? Let me know in the comments!

2 thoughts on “My Favourite Series Read in 2016

  1. Great choices! I’ll admit that Kiss of Deception was just a meh book for me, I’m so glad that I stuck with the series because I ended up loving it! I’ve also only read Cinder a long time ago when it first came out and haven’t read any more from the series. But I do plan to reread it and finish the rest at some point!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

