Hauls TBR Wrap Ups

January 2017 Wrap up

The first month of 2017 has come to an end and for me it feels like it just flew by! Although January wasn’t the best reading month for me, there were one or two other things that made the month pretty great. So now let’s get into the books I read!

read this month

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

  1. Everything Leads to You by Nina Lacour – ★★★★☆
    I had heard so many amazing things about this book so I was expecting to love it and I did! I loved the atmosphere and the characters and the diversity. I did only give this book four stars because I felt like it dragged at some points, but I really really enjoyed it!
  2. The Probability of Miracles by Wendy Wunder – ★★★★☆
    Last year I read The Museum of Intangible Things by Wendy Wunder and I really did not like it so I was hesitant to pick this one up. But I will say I was pleasantly surprised. I really liked the characters and the plot, even though I’m not a huge fan of cancer stories. It was a fast read and I really enjoyed it.
  3. Broken Hearts, Fences and Other Things to Mend by Katie Finn – ★★★★☆
    Katie Finn is Morgan Matson’s pen name so I had high expectations for this. I will say that I didn’t think it was as good as her MM books, but it was fun and fast with great characters and an even better plot and I flew through it.
  4. Nowhere But Here by Katie McGarry – ★★★★☆
    This had been on my TBR for two years and I finally decided it was time to pick it up. Not gonna lie, it took me a really long time to enjoy it. For the first half I hated almost every character and I was not a fan of the plot. But the second half was so much better than the first and I ended up really enjoying it. I’m not in a rush to read the other novels in the series but I’m glad I finally got to this.
  5. Trust in Me by J. Lynn – ★★★★★
    In December I read Wait For You by J. Lynn (Jennifer L. Armentrout) and I LOVED IT. So when I found out Trust in Me was WFY in Cam’s perspective, I had to read it and omg did I love it! I absolutely adore Cam and Avery and it was so great to be back with them and see it all from Cam’s P.O.V. I loved it.
  6. Be With Me by J. Lynn – ★★★★★
    Having loved Wait For You so much I was super excited to go into this and it definitely did not let me down! I loved Teresa though I didn’t always love Jase, but I loved their story and they’re relationship and I loved seeing the changes in them. This was a super fast and addictive read and I cannot wait to pick up the third book in this series!
  7. History is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera – ★★★★★
    I absolutely adored Adam’s debut novel More Happy Than Not and had such high expectations for this one. I loved History is All You Left Me. I loved Griffin and his story and seeing how he changes throughout the novel. This was fast paced and emotional and it pulled on my heart strings so much. I loved the writing style and I cannot wait to get more books from Adam Silvera.
  8. The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig – ★★★☆☆
    I had seen a lot of great things about this and was really hoping to enjoy it but I just didn’t. I didn’t hate it by any means but I felt like it was slow and it dragged and for a lot of it I was bored. I didn’t really like or connect with any of the characters and I’m not sure if I’ll pick up the sequel. The premise was interesting but I just don’t think it was executed well. For me this book was just kind of meh.
  9. Revenge, Ice Cream and Other Things Best Served Cold by Katie Finn – ★★★★☆
    I really liked this! I was worried that as a sequel this would be disappointing but I enjoyed it so much! There were some points where I wasn’t loving the characters and how far they were pushing their revenge plans too much but ultimately I had a lot of fun reading it.
  10. Phantom Limbs by Paula Garner – ★★★★★
    I’d had my eye on this for a while and I finally decided to give it a go in January and I have to say, I LOVED IT. This book was emotional and raw. I loved the characters and their story, though I was definitely not a fan of the romance for a lot of the book. But this book made me feel so many things and I highly recommend it.
  11. We Are Still Tornadoes by Michael Kun & Susen Mullen – ★★★★☆
    I haven’t seen many people talking about this but I loved the cover so I decided to give it a go and I actually really enjoyed it.This book is set in 1982 follows two best friends, Cath and Scott, who are writing letters to each other because Cath has gone off to college and Scott has stayed behind to form a band. This was a really nice story of friendship and romance. There were some things I felt were a bit rushed but I liked it.
  12. The Revised Fundamentals of Caregiving by Jonathan Evison -★★☆☆☆
    Ugh this was so disappointing. I really enjoyed the movie adaptation of this so I thought I would like the book but I just didn’t. I thought it was slow and boring and I really could not stand most of the characters, especially the MC. I definitely this book was just a waste of time for me.
  13. Hearts, Fingers and Other Things to Cross by Katie Finn – ★★★★★
    When this arrived I was surprised it was so short, espeically when you compare it to the first two books in the trilogy. HFAOTC was only 250 pages so I thought it would be disappointing but I loved it! This book made me emotional and I honestly loved the ending and how it all wrapped up so much. If you’re looking for a fun, revenge filled contemporary romance then I definitely recommend this trilogy!

highlights and faves

I didn’t have many favourites in January but I have been loving Ed Sheeran’s new singles. I’ve been listening to Castle on the Hill on repeat for the last couple weeks and I love it!

I also didn’t have many highlights this month but there was one thing and that is… I got into uni! I’m not doing a degree yet but I’m so excited to start studying again!


How many books did you get to in January? Have you read any of the ones I mentioned? And what were some of your favourites and highlights? Let me know in the comments!

4 thoughts on “January 2017 Wrap up

Leave a Reply

