Hauls TBR Wrap Ups

March 2017 Wrap Up!

I cannot believe that it’s already April and it’s been about forever and a day since I posted on here… oops. So I thought I would bring you my March wrap up and talk about all the books I read! Though I didn’t read heaps of books in March, I read so many books that were AMAZING and three of them are my favourites of 2017. Honestly, I don’t think I have ever loved as many books in one month as I did in March and I seriously recommend almost all of them!


A Quiet Kind of Thunder by Sara Barnard – ★★★★★
This. Was. Adorable. I think this was actually the first book I’ve read (at least that I can remember) that features a mute protagonist and a deaf love interest. I seriously loved Steffi and Rhys and their relationship SO MUCH. I loved the representation in this novel and just everything about it. I highly highly HIGHLY recommend you all read this one!

Love, Lucas by Chantelle Sedgwick – ★★☆☆☆
Ooooooh I did not like this. I really kind of hated the plot and the writing style, it just seemed so immature to me and kind of unoriginal… It was boring and I was just so glad that it was a short and fast read.

Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver – ★★★★☆
I enjoyed this so much more than I expected! I picked this up because I wanted to see the movie and I have to say that I quite liked it. Though the plot twists did become kind of predictable around halfway through, I really liked the development of the main character and also there’s a super cute love interest. There were things that kind of irritated me but all in all I enjoyed it!

Under Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall – ★★★★★
OMG OMG OMG I LOVED THIS!!! This book features a main character with agoraphobia, OCD and anxiety and it made me feel so many things! First of all, I adored the characters. I love them. A lot. Second, the plot was fantastic. It was addictive and it sucked me right in from page one and it’s easily one of my favourite books of this year so far. I just loved it and you ALL NEED TO READ IT IMMEDIATELY.

Caraval by Stephanie Garber – ★★★★★
I loooooooooved this. I’m pretty sure you all know how much I love The Night Circus (spoiler alert: it’s one of my all time favourites) and this was being called a YA of it version so obviously I was here for it. And then I read it and I was here for it even more! I loved everything about this book. It was magical and atmospherical and the way everything was described really made me feel like I was there. Not to mention I love the characters and the writing style and the plot. Definitely one of my 2017 faves and one I definitely recommend!

Unconventional by Maggie Harcourt – ★★★★★
Another book that I seriously loved. This is all about fan conventions (YES YES YES) but it’s mostly about the behind-the-scenes and running & organising of conventions. I loved the event management aspect of this as it was my previous career goal but who wouldn’t love a book set around fan conventions and an author love interest and great female protagonist? This is another 2017 favourite, I just loved it SO MUCH.

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas – ★★★★★
I loved this so much that I was lost for words after I read it and I still am. This book is so raw and powerful and unflinchingly honest. The main character Starr is a badass and so strong and such a great role model. Honestly all I can say about this is: if you only read one book this year, make it this one.

A Tragic Kind of Wonderful by Eric Lindstrom – ★★★★☆
I was actually pretty surprised by how much I liked this! This book follows a main character with bipolar disorder, which is not a mental illness that I’ve read much of in YA. I wasn’t entirely sure about four stars but the ending of this book was just WOW. It made me feel so many things and I really really enjoyed it and you all should read it.

The Lost and Found by Katrina Leno – ★★★★★
This was so wonderful, omg. I loved loved loved Frannie and Louis and their relationship and their story together but also their stories individually. This is such a great novel of friendship and romance and grief with magical realism and some anxiety rep too. I feel like I’ve said this a lot in this post READ THIS BOOK.

Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone – ★★★★★
Well what do we have here? Another book I loved? No way! Every Last Word was amazing. It really was. This book follows Sam, a girl with OCD who becomes part of a secret poetry group at her school. I loved the mental health representation (I don’t know if you can tell but mental health books are my favourite) and I loved the poetry aspect. This book just made me feel a lot of things and I felt so invested in Sam and her recovery and I. Loved. It.

A List of Cages by Robin Roe – ★★★★★
This is the first book I’ve ever read featuring characters with ADHD and dyslexia. I honestly have so much love for this novel. In A List of Cages we follow two boys, Adam and Julian who used to be foster brothers. Julian is beginning his freshman year of high school when he runs into Adam who is a senior at the same school and they slowly rekindle their friendship. The friendship between Adam and Julian is adorable. I think Julian may be one of my favourite characters ever. I will say that this book does feature child abuse so be mindful of that when going into this, but otherwise I really do think this is a book you all should read.

We Are Okay by Nina LaCour – ★★★★☆
I really liked this! I liked the characters and the plot, it all made me quite emotional but my favourite thing about it was the writing style. It was so beautiful and just… enchanting. This was a fast, sweet read and I seriously enjoyed it.

10 Things I Can See From Here by Carrie Mac – ★★★☆☆
I really wanted to love this but I just didn’t. I loved the representation; this book follows an LGBTQIA main character with anxiety. My main issue was with the portrayal of anxiety itself. Though it felt very real to me, it was the kind of anxiety that made me anxious which really took away from the reading experience. I liked the plot but I didn’t think it was as well executed as it could have been. I really wish I had loved this, but alas I did not.

Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur – ★★★★★
I don’t read poetry at all ever but this was beautiful. This collection of poems made me feel so many different things and I just adored them and it’s inspired me to pick up more poetry in the future.


There you have it! My super long and kind of rambly March wrap up. I just read so many good books this past month and I really recommend them all. How many and which books did you read in March? Any of these? Let me know your thoughts in the comments! And don’t forget to keep an eye out for my (huge) Feb + March haul!

One thought on “March 2017 Wrap Up!

Leave a Reply

