Reviews

Review: ALEX, APPROXIMATELY by Jenn Bennett

alex, approximately

Title: Alex, Approximately
Author: Jenn Bennett 
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Publish Date: April 2017
Pages: 388
Synopsis: Bailey “Mink” Rydell has met the boy of her dreams. They 
share a love of films and talk all day – Alex is perfect. Well, 
apart from the fact that they’ve never actually met… and neither 
of them knows the other’s real name.
When Bailey moves to California to live with her dad, who happens 
to live in the same town as Alex, she decides to use her sleuthing 
skills to find him. But tracking someone down based on online 
conversations alone proves harder than Bailey thought, and with her 
irritating but charismatic colleague Porter Roth distracting her at 
every turn, will she ever get to meet the mysterious Alex?

Review: ALEX, APPROXIMATELY is the newest book from Jenn Bennett, the author of Night Owls. I read Night Owls last year and LOVED it so I had high hopes for this book and I gotta say, it did not disappoint!

This is the kind of book that had me so emotional when I was finishing it because I just did not want to leave these characters. I absolutely adore Bailey and Porter and I just want to see more of them!

Bailey is just such a great character. I loved that she’s obsessed with old films and vintage style. She’s strong and a bit of badass but she’s also flawed which I always find endearing in a protagonist. I was just so invested in Bailey and her story, I so badly wanted her to have a happy ending. I was rooting for her from the get go! I also loved seeing the development she went through. She grew so much throughout this novel and that was so great to see.

I also loved Porter. There were many times where he was an obnoxious jerk but he was also pretty swoon-worthy and just so easy to like. I really liked his back story and seeing his family and their passion for surfing. Surprising, I haven’t actually read many books with such a large focus on surfing as this one and I did really like it.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

There are many other plot points to this book and a lot of great side characters. I absolutely ADORED Bailey’s dad. I just thought he was so sweet and nerdy with his love of sci-fi films and board games and I loved the relationship between him and Bailey. I also really loved Grace, Bailey’s best friend. She was just so fun and I loved her family too. OH and I can’t forget about Pangborn who may very well be my favourite side character. He was sweet and adorable and I just loved him.

There are so many things to love about this book. It features a summer romance by the beach, old movies, a bright blue Vespa with a leopard patterned seat, churros and an internet friendship.

Right from the first page I was hooked and I could not put this book down. The writing was fast paced and I loved the world building. Like with Night Owls, I could vividly picture the small beachside town Coronado Cove, the Cavern Palace and Porters family’s surf shop.

If you’re looking for something fun, sweet and addictive to pick up then I definitely recommend this book! It has some darker plot elements but it really is wonderful and you all should read it!

rating

★★★★★

One thought on “Review: ALEX, APPROXIMATELY by Jenn Bennett

Leave a Reply

