Hauls TBR Wrap Ups

June + July Wrap Up (a.k.a. mini reviews)!

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

It has been MONTHS since I did a wrap up… I think it’s safe to say I’ve seriously been slacking on the blog front. But I’m sloooooowly coming back to it and I am so happy!

For those of you who saw my Semester Break TBR post, you’ll know I was on my semester break from the end of June to mid-July. I managed to get a pretty good amount of books read (spoiler alert: I loved almost all of them!).

Somehow, July is almost to an end (WUT we’re over halfway through 2017 already!!!) so here is a wrap up of all the books I read in June and July!


June

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Always and Forever, Lara Jean by Jenny Han – ★★★★☆
I wanted to love this but… I just didn’t. I enjoyed it! But this book just felt a little young to me. I didn’t like Lara Jean for a lot of the book, and felt like she lacked depth. I loved Kitty and Peter, though! The reason I gave this four stars was the ending! It had me a but teary and was such a great conclusion to the trilogy. Even though I was kiiind of disappointed, I still liked it and the trilogy as a whole!

Persepolis volumes 1 & 2 by Marjane Satrapi – ★★★★☆
We had talked about this in one of my classes and watched a couple of scenes from the movie which I really enjoyed so I decided to pick it up! I was way out of my comfort zone with this one: I never read graphic novels. And this is a memoir graphic novel so that was a really interesting experience! I enjoyed it and I learned a lot from it, but by the end I was a little bored and felt like it dragged a bit.

Forever with You by J. Lynn – ★★★★★
I accidentally forgot to include this in the picture (WHOOPS) but I LOVED THIS. It’s not quite my favourite in the series (I will love Cam forever) but it’s a cloooose second! I loved Nick and Steph and their stories and relationship and AHHHH if you haven’t read the Wait for You series yet DO IT NOW!

Fire in You by J. Lynn – ★★★★☆
As you can tell from above, I love the Wait for You series. And I really like the newest novel, Fire in You, but I didn’t love it. Though I liked the characters, I didn’t feel a connection to them. And I didn’t really like the romance. This is easily my second least favourite in the series.

Frigid by J. Lynn – ★★★★☆
This was really cute! I started this when I was on the Gold Coast because I figured it would be a quick read, and it was. But it was kind of boring? I didn’t love the characters and their story was so … cliche. But it was fast and sweet and everything I needed when I read it.

Scorched by J. Lynn – ★★★☆☆
I was super excited for Scorched but ultimately it really let me down. I really disliked the main character. She spent so much of the book feeling sorry for herself and it was kind of annoying. I liked Tanner, the love interest, but he made a few sexist remarks that got on my nerves. I wanted to like this and I’m still so sad I didn’t.

Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare – ★★★★★
Oh my goshhhhh you guys this was SO GOOD. I loved loved loved Lady Midnight, as you’ll know if you’ve read my review, and I was kind of worried this would be as good. But it was!!! It was fantastic. I love love love Emma and Julian, and the Blackthorn gang. The ending DESTROYED me and I have absolutely no idea how I’m going to wait until 2019 for the next book.

Our Dark Duet by Victoria Schwab – ★★★★★
I don’t know what I was expecting but it wasn’t for this book to CRUSH me. I love August and Kate and the world of Verity. This duology has so many amazing characters, the writing is wonderful and the storyline is so unique. Schwab can do no wrong.

July

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon – ★★★★★
Literally EVERYONE was raving about this book when it was released, so I had pretty high expectations for it. And let me tell you, it did not let me down! I loved having two Indian MCs, I’ve never read anything like that before. Dimple is so strong and badass. Rishi is adorable and I love him. This story is so addicting, I couldn’t put it down and when I did finish it I just wanted to start it again. If you haven’t read this yet, WHAT ARE YOU DOING WITH YOUR LIFE?

Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia – ★★★★★
I loved this. This was amazing. I posted a review of this book (go check it out if you haven’t already) because once I was done, I just had to talk about it. I think this is my favourite book of the year. I loved Zappia’s other novel Made You Up and I’m so glad I loved this, too. Please please please go read this if you haven’t already.

Goodbye Days by Jeff Zentner – ★★★★☆
I loved The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner and really wanted to love this. I liked it but I didn’t love it. This story is so incredibly sad and it contains so much emotion. But I just didn’t feel much of a connection to the characters or the story. This book touches on grief, friendship and forgiveness. It’s so important but it just didn’t pack an emotional punch for me.

The Female of the Species by Mindy McGinnis – ★★★★★
Going into this, I had no idea what it was about. I was surprised to find that this book is so dark and raw. It doesn’t shy away from important topics such as rape, of which I haven’t found many YA books about, but I’m glad I found this one. It’s amazing. It’s gritty and confronting and powerful. I loved the main character Alex and how unapologetically strong she was. This book was dark and heartbreaking, and I think it’s one everyone should read.

Alex & Eliza by Melissa de la Cruz – ★★★☆☆
I wanted to love this but I had a feeling I wouldn’t and surprise: I didn’t. This book is about Alexander Hamilton and Eliza Schuyler, how could I not love it?! I just think Melissa de la Cruz’s novels aren’t for me. The love story was super cute and sweet but it dragged a little bit. There were sections of history which weren’t too bad, but upon first sight they felt like walls of text. I knew this was a fictional retelling of Alex & Eliza’s romance, so I knew it was different to Hamilton: the musical. But it felt really kind od bland.

Allegedly by Tiffany D. Jackson – ★★★★☆
I had heard only amazing things about this and it deserves all the hype! But it was so confusing to me, especially the ending. I didn’t feel a connection with the main characters story, or any of the other characters. But this book is really good! It’s dark and twisted and addictive. This book was really interesting and eye opening, but the ending just didn’t do it for me.

Losing It by Cora Carmack – ★★★★☆
This was so cute! I really loved the characters, especially the love interest Garrick. He and Bliss are so cute together. Though it was fluffy and sweet, I was surprised by the substance to it. This is super fast and sweet, and I definitely recommend it if you’re looking for a quick pick-me-up!

The Goldfish Boy by Lisa Thompson – ★★★☆☆
Ooooh I had such high hopes for this! The plot was okay and I liked the OCD representation, but I didn’t like the characters. I felt no connection to them whatsoever, they were so unlikeable. The plot had a lot of potential, but the characters let it down.

Ramona Blue by Julie Murphy – ★★★★☆
I’d seen a lot of negative reviews for this so I was really surprised by how much I enjoyed it! I understand why people don’t like it but I loved the representation in it, and how it showed that sexuality can be fluid. I didn’t love Ramona and I HATED her sister Hattie… But I really liked the other characters and the story.

The Memory of Light by Francisco X Stork – ★★★★★
I put this off for a while and I have no idea why; it was AMAZING! The characters were so vivid and felt so real. I love love loved the mental illness representation in this book. The author of this book struggles with mental illness and once attempted to commit suicide so it’s a #ownvoices book which is great. I highly recommend this one!

The Inside of Out by Jenn Marie Thorne – ★★★★☆
I loved The Wrong Side of Right by the same author, but I put this off for a while. It was good but it wasn’t great. I did love a lot of the characters, and I appreciated the message of the story and what it was trying to do, but I think it was executed poorly.

Until It Fades by K.A. Tucker – ★★★★☆
This was so sweet! It wasn’t as good as the Ten Tiny Breath’s series, but I still loved it! I haven’t read many books about a single mother so that was cool. It was a bit slow in the beginning but it picked up and sucked me right in. My only issue is that I was able to predict a lot of the plot twists which was kind of a let down.

The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson – ★★★★☆
I listened to this on Audible because I knew reading it would take me ageessss, especially when I was going back to uni. It was slow to begin but it I ended up enjoying it! I kind of regret listening to it though because the narrator was kind of boring. And I found the magic system to be really confusing. But I’m looking forward to reading the rest of the series!

Once and For All by Sarah Dessen – ★★★★☆
I love Sarah Dessen and her novels, so I was really excited for this and it did not let me down! I LOVED the characters. Louna and Ambrose are so cute, just thinking about them makes me smile. Reading about wedding planning was also really cool since events management was something I was really interested in. It’s not my favourite of Dessen’s novels, but I enjoyed it nonetheless.


There we have it, all the books I read in June and July! Somehow this turned into a whole heap of mini reviews so I’m sorry it was so long. If you’ve made it to the end, congratulations! You deserve a cookie!

What books have you read in the last couple months? Any of these? Let me know in the comments!

2 thoughts on “June + July Wrap Up (a.k.a. mini reviews)!

Leave a Reply

